Ogden One of Texas Monthly's Ten Best Legislators

Texas Monthly Website
Click Here

Previous Best/Worst Lists
Click Here

Texas Monthly magazine has released its list of the best and worst legislators for the latest session in Austin, and a local representative has gotten a good mention.

Sen. Steve Ogden (R-Bryan) was named as one of the ten best elected officials for the 82nd Legislative Session. A special session is currently underway.

The Senate President Pro Tempore (third in the state's line of succession) also serves as the Senate Finance Committee chairman. He sought re-election for this latest session after originally saying he wouldn't run. Ogden stated the task of steadying the state's budget situation was a big reason he wanted to return.

Ogden was also on the Best List in 2007 and 2005, and has never made the Worst List. He was first elected to the Senate in 1997, and also served three terms in the House prior to that.

No other local legislators were recognized this year. It's the twentieth edition of Texas Monthly's lists.

The Best
Dan Branch, R-Dallas
Senator Robert Duncan, R-Lubbock
Charlie Geren, R-Fort Worth
Will Hartnett, R-Dallas
Jim Keffer, R-Eastland
Senator Steve Ogden, R-Bryan
Mike Villarreal, D-San Antonio
Senator John Whitmire, D-Houston
Senator Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo
John Zerwas, R-Richmond

The Worst
Leo Berman, R-Tyler
Dennis Bonnen, R-Angleton
Wayne Christian, R-Center
Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst, R-Houston
Senator Troy Fraser, R-Horseshoe Bay
Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound
Larry Phillips, R-Sherman
Burt Solomons, R-Carrollton
Senator Jeff Wentworth, R-San Antonio
Bill Zedler, R-Arlington

Special Awards
Bull of the Brazos: Trey Martinez Fischer, D-San Antonio
Rookie of the Year: Dan Huberty, R-Houston

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 123927599 - kbtx.com/a?a=123927599
Gray Television, Inc.