Schwertner Wins in Run for Ogden's Senate Seat

A doctor from Georgetown has won the right to represent the region in the Texas Senate.

Charles Schwertner, currently a state representative, will all-but-assuredly move to the other side of the capitol to represent Senate District 5 with his victory Tuesday in the Republican primary. He was declared the winner by the Associated Press shortly before 8:30 p.m. Tuesday, defeating Huntsville businessman Ben Bius by a wide margin.

No Democratic candidate ran for the office.

Steve Ogden has held the seat since 1997, but chose to retire. He backed Schwertner, who was in his first term in the Texas House representing District 20.

For the second straight election, Bius was unsuccessful in a bid for District 5. In 2010, he lost to Ogden, who had initially decided to retire, but changed his mind after Bius had announced his candidacy. Ogden took 68 percent of the vote in the Republican primary that year.

With redistricting, Senate District 5 will now encompass Brazos, Grimes, Walker, Madison, Leon, Robertson and Milam Counties locally. Williamson, Limestone and Freestone Counties are also in the district.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 155395565 -
Gray Television, Inc.