Texas A&M Presents President’s Meritorious Service Awards To 28 Employees

The 25th annual President’s Meritorious Service Awards program at Texas A&M University this week focused on honoring the 28 employees selected for special Aggie recognition because of their exemplary service, but it also include a glimpse of the campus a quarter century ago and the state of the nation then, with notation about 89-cent gasoline drawing chuckles from the audience.

Texas A&M President R. Bowen Loftin said the staff represent one of the three “important legs” of the university — along with the students and faculty — and “we see evidence of it every day.” He cited as a prime example the service that numerous staff members rendered earlier this month when heavy rains caused flooding on the campus with about 30 buildings affected.

“Texas A&M continues to earn national recognition as a teaching and research institution; however it is also characterized by a sense of family and service to others. The Aggie family includes amazing staff members whose dedication keeps Texas A&M a special place,” Loftin added.

“On behalf of a grateful university,” Loftin thanked the 2011-12 award winners for their work that drew special attention and admiration from their fellow workers and supervisors who nominated them.

Winners of the 2011-12 President’s Meritorious Service Awards are cited on the Human Resources website at http://employees.tamu.edu/pmsa. The website also contains a list of past award winners.

This year’s award winners have combined service to the university totaling 427 years. While the typical recipient has the university for more than two decades — with three of the awardees each having more than 30 years of service, one recipient has been with the university for only three years, indicating that relatively new employees can make quick impacts and be recognized.

Vice President for Operations Rodney McClendon presided at the Rudder Theatre program attended by approximately 300 employees, including past recipients of the President’s Meritorious Service Award, and family members of the award winners this year.

“We thank you for all you do,” McClendon said.

The awards were first presented in 1986 as a way to recognize outstanding staff employees for their service. Each individual honored receives a $700 cash award, a commemorative plaque and a lapel pin. The team will be recognized with a plaque for departmental display. Each member of the team receives a cash award of $200 and a framed certificate of recognition.

The nomination process for the awards is held each fall and any member of the faculty and staff can make a nomination. The winners are selected from among the nominees by an anonymous committee appointed by the president. To be eligible, employees must be a staff member at Texas A&M, have a minimum of two years of service, be below the level of department or unit head, director or related titles and be budgeted at least 50 percent with Texas A&M.

The only additional eligibility requirements for the team award is that the majority of team members must have a minimum of two years of service with Texas A&M and not have been a past team award recipient.

The President's Meritorious Service Awards Program is sponsored by the Office of the President and The Association of Former Students. The program is coordinated by Texas A&M Human Resources.

For questions about the award program, contact the recognition and reward staff at emplrecognition@tamu.edu or 845-0379.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 140002663 - kbtx.com/a?a=140002663
Gray Television, Inc.