Texas House Approves Redistricting Bill

By: Cody Lillich Email
By: Cody Lillich Email

"I thank Chairman Solomons, the Redistricting Committee, and the House members for their hard work and commitment in passing a map that is fair, legal, and that reflects the demographic changes that our state has experienced over the past decade."

-State Rep. Joe Straus
Texas House Speaker

Texas lawmakers have given preliminary approval to a redistricting bill to re-draw the lines for the House of Representatives.

State lawmakers have come to an agreement on another re-districting map.

The State House was at work until almost 3 a-m this morning working out re-districting plans for House districts.

The approved plan would have a major impact on Representative Fred Brown's district.

He'll just represent Bryan and most of College Station.

Meanwhile newly elected Rep. Marva Beck (R-Centerville) would represent District 57 which would run from Leon and Madison Counties all the way to the Lufkin area.

District 17 would consist of Lee and Bastrop Counties.

District 13 would include Burleson, Grimes, Washington, Austin, Fayette, Colorado and Lavaca Counties.

Walker County and the Huntsville area would move from District 13 to District 18 which would run to Liberty County.

Montgomery County's District 16 would include the northern half of the county from Conroe north.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 120923834 - kbtx.com/a?a=120923834
Gray Television, Inc.