Texas Primaries' Election Day; Results Online and On-Air

Click here for results as they come in

News 3 will have complete coverage of the results on-air and online Tuesday night, including a recap of the key races on 10 at Ten.

Election Day has finally arrived for the Texas primaries.

After delays due to conflicts over the redistricting process that landed in the courts and two weeks of early voting, the polls opened for voters to decide party nominees, or in some cases, the likely winners of seats.

Polls closed at 7:00 p.m.

Some races may require runoffs, which would be held July 31. A candidate must earn a majority of the votes to win the race outright.

Originally scheduled to be a Super Tuesday state, the primary delay left Texas without a role in deciding the presidential nominee. However, a U.S. Senate race is being determined as fields of Democrats and Republicans emerged to try and win the seat of retiring senior Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison.

Brazos County sees no contested Democratic races for county offices, and just the aforementioned presidential and U.S. Senate races, plus a State Board of Education race to decide a nominee for the multi-county District 8. Democratic early voting this year was well below the 2008 primary totals. Just 493 votes were cast early this year compared to 4,327 in the last presidential year, one highlighted by the Barack Obama-Hillary Clinton contest.

On the other hand, Brazos County Republicans turned out in bigger numbers early to decide a new district attorney, a new state senator and a pair of Texas House party nominees, among other races. For 2012, 5,139 voted in the GOP primary compared to 4,037 four years ago.

To find your polling places, we've provided links beneath the list of notable races for the area.


US House, Dist 17 (R)
Bill Flores (I)
George W. Hindman


US House, Dist 8 (R)
Kevin Brady (I)
Larry Youngblood

US House, Dist 8 (D)
Neil Burns


US House, Dist 10 (R)
Michael McCaul (I)
Eddie Traylor

US House, Dist 10 (D)
Tawana W. Cadien
William E. Miller, Jr.


State Senate, Dist 5 (R)
Ben Bius
Charles Schwertner

(Incumbent Steve Ogden (R) chose not to run for re-election)


State House, Dist 12 (R)
Tucker Anderson
Timothy Delasandro
Kyle Kacal
Chris Scotti
Josh Tetens

State House, Dist 12 (D)
Robert Stem

(newly drawn district)


State House, Dist 14 (R)
Hal Hawkins
John Raney (I)

State House, Dist 14 (D)
Judy LeUnes


State House, Dist 57 (R)
Trent Ashby
Marva Beck (I)


Chief Justice, 10th Court of Appeals (R)
Tom Gray (I)
Steve Smith


Brazos County District Attorney (R)
Rick Davis
David Hilburn
Jarvis Parsons
Ray Thomas

(Incumbent Bill Turner (D) chose not to run for re-election)

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 155346765 - kbtx.com/a?a=155346765
Gray Television, Inc.