Five Men Escape Jail In Texarkana, Arkansas

By: Nicole Morten Email
By: Nicole Morten Email

Five men cut through bars to escape from the Miller County jail in Texarkana, Arkansas late Tuesday night.

Chief Deputy Tommy Hollin says deputies captured Jeffrey Dean Smith of Texarkana, Texas, in an arrest Wednesday morning.

Hollin identified the escapees still missing as Codarrius Morris of Texarkana, Arkansas; Bennie Ray Johnson of Bradley; Kenneth Dewayne Riley of Wilton; and Anthony Michael Brown.

Hollin was unable to immediately provide additional information, including the charges on which the men were being jailed

Last night's escape is the latest problem at the Miller County jail. Sheriff Linda Rambo was chastised for not quickly alerting the public of a February 18th escape of two other prisoners.

In some parts of the jail, Plexiglas walls are all that separate the incarcerated from common hallways. Much of it has had to be replaced or repaired because inmates have shattered it. Door hinges can be taken apart -- meaning inmates can disassemble the hinges and simply walk into restricted areas.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 24236924 -
Gray Television, Inc.