BP, Government Win 1st Amendment Muzzle Awards

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

BP and the Obama administration are among the winners of the Jefferson Muzzle awards, given by a free-speech group to those it considers the worst First Amendment violators in 2010.

The list is compiled by the Thomas Jefferson Center for the Protection of Free Expression. The Virginia-based center says BP and the administration won for their roles in restricting news media access to the massive Gulf of Mexico oil spill.

Other recipients included the Transportation Security Administration, which arrested a passenger in Virginia who stripped to his shorts to protest security measures; a Mississippi judge who jailed a lawyer or refusing to recite the Pledge of Allegiance and the Virginia prisons agency for banning a "Jailhouse Lawyers Handbook."

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 119762919 - kbtx.com/a?a=119762919
Gray Television, Inc.