Gov. Perry and First Lady Anita Honor 2010 Texas Women's Hall of Fame Inductees

Gov. Rick Perry and First Lady Anita Perry today honored the 2010 inductees to the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame for their accomplishments in the fields of leadership, health, higher education, cultural leadership and public service. This year’s inductees are Dr. Nancy Dickey, Erma Chansler Johnson Hadley, Dr. Teresa Long, Judy Castle Scott and the Hon. Pamela Willeford.
“Texas just wouldn’t be Texas without the contribution of the wonderful women who have lived boldly, shattered stereotypes and made us all better in the process,” Gov. Perry said. “This year’s inductees and the women who will follow in their footsteps provide living proof that greatness resides first in the heart, and is realized through hard work and perseverance.”

“Throughout our history, Texas women have broken the mold, stood out from the rest and challenged the status quo,” Texas First Lady Anita Perry said. “The Women’s Hall of Fame is full of shining examples to remind us what anyone can do when barriers are seen as challenges and mediocrity is not an option.”

The Governor’s Commission for Women created the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame in 1984 to honor Texas women who have made significant contributions in areas such as the arts, athletics, business, education, health and leadership. The Texas Women’s Hall of Fame was permanently established at the Texas Woman’s University campus in Denton in 2003.

For more information about the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame, or to view biographies for this year’s inductees, please visit

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 102871269 -
Gray Television, Inc.