3 More Texas Counties Can Apply For FEMA Assistance

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

Three more Texas counties affected by last year's wildfires can apply for disaster recovery aid from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

FEMA and the Texas Division of Emergency Management announced Friday that those eligible in Erath, Midland and Wichita counties can apply for public assistance reimbursements.

It's the latest amendment to the July 1, 2011, major disaster declaration for wildfires that occurred April 6th through August 29th, 2011.

The program includes helping with the cost of removing disaster-related debris from public rights of way and helping defray the cost of repairing public infrastructure.

With the amendment, 122 Texas counties are designated for assistance under the disaster declaration.

Texas has a separate disaster declaration for counties affected by wildfires from August 30th to December 31st, 2011.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 142992975 - kbtx.com/a?a=142992975
Gray Television, Inc.