AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - Texans who fall behind on their mortgage
payments would get more time to try to save their homes under
legislation approved by the Texas Senate.
Under current law, Texas homeowners have just 20 days to cure a
loan default before lenders foreclose on them. It is one of the
shortest foreclosure notice periods in country.
The bill approved today -- a top priority of Attorney General
Greg Abbott -- would extend that period to 45 days. The bill passed
unanimously and now moves to the state House.
To comment, the following rules must be followed:
Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.
Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please provide detailed information.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or email@example.com.