A&M's President Now a Hall of Famer

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

DENTON, Texas -- Former U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor and four other women were inducted into the Texas Women's Hall of Fame Tuesday.

The other women are Louise Hopkins Underwood of Lubbock, Elsa Murano of College Station, Carolyn Peterson of San Antonio and Huda Zoghbi, of Houston.

Murano is the first female and first Hispanic-American president of Texas A&M University and a former undersecretary for food safety for the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Underwood was recognized for her contribution to the arts. She helped start the Texas Alliance for Education and the Arts and the Lubbock Cultural Arts Commission.

Peterson was recognized for her work in historical preservation, including work to restore and preserve the Alamo, the Strand Historic District in Galveston and county courthouses. She also was the lead architect in the restoration of the Texas State Capitol.

Zoghbi, a Baylor College of Medicine professor, was honored for her work in health research. She pioneered research of Rett Syndrome, a nerve developmental disorder that occurs in children.

O'Connor, who retired from the Supreme Court in 2006, was recognized for her leadership.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 30624374 - kbtx.com/a?a=30624374
Gray Television, Inc.