A&M Baseball Headed To Fort Worth For NCAA Regional

By: Texas A&M Media Relations Email
By: Texas A&M Media Relations Email

The Texas A&M baseball team earned its third consecutive bid to the NCAA Tournament and will open regional play on Friday at Lupton Stadium in Fort Worth, the selection committee announced Monday.

The Aggies (36-22) were an at-large selection to the 64-team field and will join TCU (36-16), Oregon State (35-17) and Wright State (33-28) for regional action this weekend. A&M is seeded second in the regional and will face the No. 3-seeded Beavers in the first game at 2 p.m. Friday. TCU and Wright State will face off at 7 p.m.

Texas A&M will be making its 21st appearance in an NCAA Regional and 25th trip overall to the NCAA Tournament. The Aggies have claimed five regional championships (1993, 1999, 2004, 2007, 2008) and have made four trips to the College World Series (1951, 1964, 1993, 1999).

“It’s exciting to be playing in the state of Texas,” A&M coach Rob Childress said. “We’re going to travel well and we’ll have a lot of maroon in the stands when we do play, and that’s a good feeling. I don’t think any of us were surprised when we saw where we were going today. We open against a perennial national power in Oregon State and are very familiar with the other two teams. It ought to be a great tournament.”

TCU earned an at-large bid to the tournament out of the Mountain West Conference. The Horned Frogs won the MWC regular-season title but faltered in the league’s tournament in Fort Worth, suffering two losses to eventual champion Utah. TCU will be making its eighth trip to the NCAA tourney and will be hosting a regional for the first time in school history. The Aggies defeated the Frogs, 4-3, in 10 innings on April 28 at Olsen Field.

Oregon State was an at-large selection out of the Pac-10 Conference. The two-time national champions (2006 and 2007) will be making their 10th all-time trip to the NCAA Championship and fourth in the last five seasons. A&M and OSU last met in ’07, splitting two meetings at the Domino’s Pizza Aggie Baseball Classic at Olsen Field.

“Opening with Oregon State is going to be a great challenge,” Childress said. “They won back-to-back national championships and they have a lot of tradition up there. There will be some familiar faces in the lineup on both sides (from 2007), and it ought to be a great game. We’re looking forward to it.”

Wright State earned the Horizon League’s automatic berth with a 6-2, 12-inning win over UIC last weekend in the conference tournament championship game. The Raiders will be making their third NCAA Tournament appearance and first since 2006. WSU opened the ’09 season with a four-game set at Olsen Field.

Texas A&M is one of a record eight Big 12 squads selected to the tournament, joining national No. 1-seed Texas (Austin Regional), national No. 7-seed Oklahoma (Norman Regional), Baylor (No. 3 seed, Baton Rouge Regional), Kansas (No. 3 seed, Chapel Hill Regional), Kansas State (No. 2 seed, Houston Regional), Missouri (No. 2 seed, Oxford Regional) and Oklahoma State (No. 3 seed, Clemson Regional).

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 45986447 - kbtx.com/a?a=45986447
Gray Television, Inc.