Texas A&M Corps Hall Of Honor Induction Saturday To Include Five Medal of Honor Winners

By: Texas A&M
By: Texas A&M

Texas A&M University will recognize the lifetime achievements of five Medal of Honor recipients and nine other former members of the Corps of Cadets during a Corps Hall of Honor induction ceremony Saturday (March 23).

The 10 a.m. ceremony in Rudder Auditorium is open to the public.

The World War II Medal of Honor recipients to be inducted posthumously Saturday are George D. Keathley ’37 of Olney, Texas, , Horace S. Carswell, Jr. ’38 of Fort Worth, Thomas W. Fowler ’43 of Wichita Falls, Lloyd H. Hughes, Jr. ’43 of Refugio, Texas and William G. Harrell ’43 of Mercedes, Texas.

Two other former students who were awarded the Medal of Honor – Turney W. Leonard ’42 of Dallas and Eli L. Whiteley ’41 of Hunt Hollow, Texas – were inducted into the Hall of Honor in 2010 and 2012 respectively.

Other inductees this year include George Linskie ’38 of Dallas, J. Wayne Stark ’39 of College Station, Edmond S. Solymosy ’60 of the Bar OS Ranch in Brazos County, L.C. “Chaz” Neely ’62 of San Antonio, Harris J. Pappas ’66 of Houston, Joseph V. Tortorice ’70 of Beaumont, Otway Denny, Jr. ’71 of Houston, Van Taylor ’71 of St. Louis and William M. Fraser, III ’74 of Scott Air Force Base in Illinois. Linskie and Stark are being inducted posthumously.

For more information about the inductees, go to http://bit.ly/10NnYkR.

The Corps Hall of Honor was established in 1993 to pay tribute to former students of the Texas A&M Corps of Cadets who have lived a life that exemplifies the Aggie Spirit. They must also possess the values upon which the corps is founded: honor, loyalty, service, patriotism and leadership. To date, 95 former cadets have been inducted. In addition, there are two honorary inductees – former Texas A&M President and former Secretary of Defense Dr. Robert Gates (2006) and former President George Herbert Walker Bush (2012).

Plaques containing portraits and biographies of each member are displayed in the Hall of Honor at the Sam Houston Sanders Corps of Cadets Center. A special lapel pin identifies the members of the Hall of Honor.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 199036191 - kbtx.com/a?a=199036191
Gray Television, Inc.