Texas A&M To Present Awards To 29 Faculty And Staff

Texas A&M University and The Association of Former Students will present Distinguished Achievement Awards Wednesday (April 25) to 24 faculty and staff for outstanding service to the university, with the ceremonies set for 1:30 p.m. in Rudder Theatre.

Also, five staff members have been selected to receive Division of Academic Affairs "Tradition of Excellence" awards for 2012 at 3 p.m. Tuesday (April 24) in the Zachry Room of the Clayton W. Williams Jr. Alumni Center.

At the Distinguished Achievement Awards program, each recipient will receive a cash gift, an engraved watch and a commemorative plaque.

A reception — open to family members, friends and the entire campus community — will be held in Rudder Exhibit Hall following the ceremony.

Distinguished Achievement Awards for Teaching will be presented to Kerry Litzenberg, agricultural economics; James Smith ’70, construction science; Mahmoud El-Halwagi, chemical engineering; Timothy Jacobs, mechanical engineering; Tatiana Erukhimova, physics and astronomy; Sherry Yennello, chemistry; Cheryl Bridges, marketing; Michael Shaub, accounting; John R. Schwarz, marine biology, Texas A&M at Galveston; and Mohamed Nounou ’95, chemical engineering, Texas A&M at Qatar.

Distinguished Achievement Awards for Research will be presented to Yue Kuo, chemical engineering; Renyi Zhang, atmospheric sciences and chemistry; Michael R. Waters, anthropology and geography; Kim Dunbar, chemistry; Nicholas Suntzeff, physics and astronomy; and Robert “Duane” Ireland, management.

Distinguished Achievement Awards for Staff will be presented to Ruby Williams, University Dining, and Edward Massingill, Custodial Services.

Distinguished Achievement Awards for Student Relations will be presented to Fidel Fernandez ’02, biomedical engineering and Debra Maceo, general academics, Texas A&M at Galveston.

Edward Fry, physics and astronomy, will be presented the Distinguished Achievement Award for administration and Barbara Gastel, veterinary integrative biosciences, will receive the award for extension, outreach, continuing education and professional development.

The Distinguished Achievement Awards for Graduate Mentoring will go to Marcetta Darensbourg, chemistry, and Christabel “Jane” Welsh, veterinary integrative biosciences.

The "Tradition of Excellence" award recognizes superior service by employees in the associate and assistant provosts' offices and their units, the University Libraries and the Faculty Senate. Each recipient will receive a $500 check and a certificate.

Winners are Heather Fountain, Scholarships & Financial Aid; Roger Martinez, Office of Admissions; Gloria Masso, Office of Admissions; Michelle Walker, Office of Admissions; and Julie Wilson, Office of Graduate Studies.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 148590785 - kbtx.com/a?a=148590785
Gray Television, Inc.