Two Texas A&M Chemists Earn Royal Society Of Chemistry Awards

By: Texas A&M University
By: Texas A&M University

COLLEGE STATION– Two Texas A&M University chemists have been selected to receive 2013 Royal Society of Chemistry Awards in recognition of their excellence and achievements in chemistry.

Dr. Kevin Burgess, professor of chemistry and inaugural holder of the Rachal Chair in Chemistry, and Dr. John A. Gladysz, distinguished professor of chemistry and inaugural holder of the Dow Chair in Chemical Invention, are among 55 international chemists -- 16 nationwide and three in Texas – announced as RSC Prize (40) and RSC Award (15) winners in the June and July issues, respectively, of RSC News. Each will receive £2000, a medal and a certificate and will deliver an invited lecture on their award-winning research at a location within the United Kingdom during the next academic year.

The University of Cambridge paced the field with seven recipients, followed by the University of Bristol and Northwestern University (5 each), the University of Oxford (4) and Imperial College of London (3). Texas A&M was one of six institutions with two honorees to round out the multiple-winners list.

Burgess and Gladysz were recognized in the organic division, one of nine categorical areas highlighted within an overall recognition portfolio designed to reward outstanding work carried out by scientists in specialized areas spanning the breadth of the chemical sciences. Burgess received the Pedler Award, an annual honor recognizing contributions to any area of organic chemistry from researchers under the age of 55, while Gladysz earned the Organometallic Chemistry Award, which biennially celebrates trailblazing aspects of organic chemistry relating to the main group and transition metals.

"Each year research and teaching achievements by chemistry department faculty are recognized with national level awards," said Dr. David H. Russell, Applied Biosystems/MDS Sciex Professor of Mass Spectrometry in Chemistry and head of the Department of Chemistry. "The RSC awards to Dr. Burgess and Dr. Gladysz reflect the high levels of impact of their research programs in a more global sense."

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 216640051 -
Gray Television, Inc.