Yell Leaders Elected At Texas A&M For The 2011-2012 School Year

David Benac, a senior finance major from Boerne, has been re-elected as a yell leader at Texas A&M University and will be joined by two other seniors and two juniors in key roles representing the university at major sporting events and other institutional activities.

The other four newly elected yell leaders are Patrick Ivey, a senior economics major from Richardson; Austin Walker, a senior industrial distribution major from Houston; Nelson Ingram, a junior business major from Tuscola; and Josh Light, a junior chemical engineering major from Abilene.

Since their beginnings in the early 1900s, the Aggie yell leaders have evolved into a team of five upperclassmen, three seniors and two juniors, elected by the student body during the annual spring election at Texas A&M.

The yell leaders attend all home and away football games, all home basketball games, all home volleyball games, all home soccer matches and post-season football, basketball and volleyball games.

They are also on hand to lead one of the most well known and popular traditions at Texas A&M -- Midnight Yell Practice. As the name implies, it is held at midnight the night before home football games in Kyle Field and is regularly attended by more than 25,000 people. Also for away games, the yell leaders help select a site for a Midnight Yell in the city where the game will be played.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 117671053 -
Gray Television, Inc.