Six Join Giza's Pyramids in New Seven Wonders

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

LISBON, Portugal -- The Great Pyramids of Giza have company again as one of the wonders of the world.

The results of a global poll to choose seven new wonders were announced today in Lisbon, Portugal. The Great Wall of China, Rome's Colosseum and India's Taj Mahal are among the architectural marvels named, along with Peru's Machu Picchu, Brazil's Statue of Christ Redeemer, Jordan's Petra and Mexico's Chichen Itza.

People around the world voted by Internet and phone message.

The Great Pyramids of Giza are the only surviving structures from the original seven wonders of the ancient world. They retain their status in addition to the new seven. Egyptian officials said it was a disgrace they had to compete.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8379942 -
Gray Television, Inc.