Aggie Kaser One Of 25 On Ray Guy Award Watch List

By: TAMU Sports Information Department/Brad Marquardt
By: TAMU Sports Information Department/Brad Marquardt

AUGUSTA, Georgia -- Texas A&M junior punter Drew Kaser was named to the 2014 preseason watch list for the Ray Guy Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top collegiate punter.

Kaser, from Strongsville, Ohio, will be the lone specialist among the players appearing at next week’s Southeastern Conference Media Days in Hoover, Ala. Also representing the Aggies will be senior cornerback Deshazor Everett (DeRidder, La.) and senior offensive lineman Cedric Ogbuehi (Allen, Texas).

A finalist for the Ray Guy Award in 2013, Kaser also earned first-team All-Southeastern Conference honors and first-team All-America honors from The Sporting News and Sports Illustrated. In his first season as a starter, Kaser led the SEC with a 47.4 punt average, which also broke the old A&M record of 47.0 set by perennial NFL All-Pro Shane Lechler in 1997. Kaser booted 17 50-yard-plus punts, had 17 “coffin corner” efforts and forced 14 fair catches. Just 16 of his 44 total punts were returnable in 2013.

Kaser is the lone returning Ray Guy Award finalist, and one of just three returning semifinalists (Cameron Johnston of Ohio State and Mike Sadler of Michigan State).

The number of eligible candidates for the Ray Guy Award will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on October 31. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semi-finalists, who will be announced on November 14. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on November 24. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, December 11, 2014.

2014 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List
· Zach Paul (Jr.), Akron
· Sam Irwin-Hill (Sr.), Arkansas
· Spencer Roth (Sr.), Baylor
· Cole Leininger (Jr.), California
· Will Monday (Jr.), Duke
· Sean Kelley (Jr.), Florida Atlantic
· Garrett Swanson (Jr.), Fresno State
· Austin Rehkow (So.), Idaho
· Trevor Pardula (Sr.), Kansas
· Anthony Melchiori (Jr.), Kent State
· Justin Manton (Sr.), LA.-Monroe
· Tyler Williams (Jr.), Marshall
· Mike Sadler (Sr.), Michigan State
· Peter Mortell (Jr.), Minnesota
· Thomas Hibbard (Sr.), North Carolina
· Wil Baumann (Sr.), North Carolina State
· Cameron Johnston (So.), Ohio State
· James Farrimond (Jr.), Rice
· Riley Dixon (Jr.), Syracuse
· Drew Kaser (Jr.), Texas A&M
· Hunter Mullins (Sr.), UAB
· Tom Hackett (Jr.), Utah
· Taylor Hudson (Sr.), Vanderbilt
· A.J. Hughes (Jr.), Virginia Tech
· Nick O’Toole (Jr.), West Virginia

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 266475361 -
Gray Television, Inc.