Garrett Takes Second Honor on SEC Softball Community Service Team

By: TAMU Sports Information Department/Meredith Collier
By: TAMU Sports Information Department/Meredith Collier

COLLEGE STATION, Texas -- Texas A&M senior Allison Garrett was named to the Southeastern Conference Softball Community Service Team for the second straight year, the league office announced today.

Garrett (Austin, Texas) exemplifies the Aggie Spirit through the Texas A&M Core Value of selfless service, volunteering throughout the Bryan-College Station community with the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), Aggie Athletes Involved (AAI) and as an individual. The senior has donated her time and effort to Aggies CAN, Hard Hats for Little Heads, Film on the Field, the Special Olympics, the Junior Aggie Club and the Brazos Valley Walk to End Alzheimer’s, as well as volunteering at the Brazos Valley Food Bank. She was also selected to the 2013 SEC Softball Community Service Team.

The SEC sponsors Community Service Teams for all 21 league sponsored sports. The Community Service Team looks to highlight an athlete from each school who gives back to her community in superior service efforts.

2014 SEC Softball Community Service Team
Jadyn Spencer, Alabama
Megan Pearson, Arkansas
Hilary Mavromat, Auburn
Niaja Griffin, Georgia
Ginny Carroll, Kentucky
Simone Heyward, LSU
Natalie Nimmo, Ole Miss
Jessica Offutt, Mississippi State
Mackenzie Sykes, Missouri
Chelsea Hawkins, South Carolina
Melissa Davin, Tennessee
Allison Garrett, Texas A&M

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 258027531 -
Gray Television, Inc.