Soccer Brings Home Seven All-Conference Honors

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION -- Seven members of the 2nd-ranked Texas A&M soccer team earned All-Big 12 honors, the league office announced today.

Senior forward Ashlee Pistorius was voted by the conference coaches as the Offensive Player of the Year and sits atop the league in shots (105), shots per game (5.53), points (52), points per game (2.75), goals (23), goals per game (1.21) and game-winning goals (6). Her 5.53 shots and 1.21 goals per game also lead the nation. The 2004 Big 12 Rookie of the Year has also netted two or more goals in seven games this season, including two hat-tricks, helping the Aggies to stay in the top 10 all season.

Headlining the first-team with Pistorius is sophomore Kristin Arnold. The Aggie keeper logged 70 saves en route to seven shutouts this season. Joining Pistorius and Arnold are midfielders Amy Berend and Allison Martino, who have combined for five goals and five assists.

Garnering second-team accolades are defender Paige Carmichael who has posted five points with a goal and three assists on the season and forward Melissa Garey who has chipped in six goals and four assists during her senior campaign.

Rounding out the awards for A&M is Rachel Shipley whose goal and six assists earned the freshman a spot on the Big 12 All-Newcomer Team.

The 2007 season saw the Aggies bring home their fourth consecutive Big 12 regular season title, sixth overall, securing A&M's spot as the No. 1 seed in the Big 12 Soccer Championship in San Antonio for the third straight season. The Aggies will begin play at 11:30 a.m. on Wednesday against the No. 8 seed Iowa State Cyclones at the Blossom Soccer Complex.
2007 All-Big 12 Conference Soccer AWards

(Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players)

Coach of the Year: Bryan Blitz, Missouri

Offensive Player of the Year: Ashlee Pistorius, Texas A&M, F, Sr.

Defensive Player of the Year: Kasey Moore, Texas, D, Jr.

Rookie of the Year: Alysha Bonnick, Missouri, F, Fr.

All-Big 12 First Team

GK: Kristin Arnold, Texas A&M, So., Centinnial, Colo.

D: Kasey Moore, Texas, Sr., Mission Viejo, Calif.

D: Stephanie Logterman, Texas, Jr., Austin, Texas

D: Michelle Wenino, Colorado, Jr., Aurora, Calif.

MF: Yolanda Odenyo, Oklahoma State, Jr., Uppsala, Sweden

MF: Allison Martino, Texas A&M, Sr., Draper, Utah

MF: Amy Berand, Texas A&M, Sr., Highland Village, Texas

F: Ashlee Pistorius, Texas A&M, Sr., Bloomington, Ill.

F: Kristin Andrighetto, Missouri, So., Pleasant Hill, Calif.

F: Nikki Marshall, Colorado, So., Mead, Colo.

F: Kelsey Carpenter, Texas, Sr., Allen, Texas

All-Big 12 Second Team**

GK: Ashley Noah, Baylor, Sr., Roseville, Calif.

D: Kat Tarr, Missouri, Jr., Vancouver, Wash.

D: Paige Carmichael, Texas A&M, Sr., Glendale, Ariz.

D: Brittney Harrison, Texas Tech, So. Plano, Texas

MF: Mo Redmond, Missouri, Jr., Brownsburg, Ind.

MF: Meghan Pfeiffer, Missouri, Jr., Chesterfield, Mo.

MF: Nikki Keller, Colorado, Jr., Arvada, Colo.

MF: Elise Reid, Iowa State, So., Ceder Rapids, Iowa

MF: Nicole Cauzillo, Kansas, Sr., Northville, Mich.

F: Niki Arlitt, Texas, Fr., Houston, Texas

F: Michelle Collins, Missouri, So., Naperville, Ill.

F: Melissa Garey, Texas A&M, Sr., Gonzales, La.

**Ties in voting created additional second team positions

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team

GK: Tasha Dittamore, Missouri, So., Granite City, Ill.

D: Allyson Leggett, Oklahoma State, Fr., Jenks, Okla.

D: Kym Lowery, Colorado, Fr., Vancouver, Wash.

D: Katie Williams, Kansas, Fr., Houston, Texas

MF: Rachel Shipley, Texas A&M, Fr., Plano, Texas

MF: Katya Hessel, Missouri, Fr., Edwardsville, Ill.

MF: Michaela DeJesus, Colorado, Jr., Dublin, Calif.

MF: Jordan Bishop, Iowa State, Fr., Carrolton, Texas

F: Alysha Bonnick, Missouri, Fr., North Gower, Ontario

F: Niki Arlitt, Texas, Fr., Houston, Texas

F: Whitney Palmer, Oklahoma, Fr., Plano, Texas