Peavy Wins Cy Young

By  | 

NEW YORK (AP) - Jake Peavy is a unanimous choice for
the 2007 National League Cy Young Award.
The San Diego Paadres right-hander was named first on all 32
ballots cast by the Baseball Writers' Association of America after
leading the senior circuit in victories, earned run average and
strikeouts. Peavy posted a 19-and-6 record with a major
league-leading 2.54 ERA and 240 strikeouts.
Last year's recipient, Arizona's Brandon Webb, was the
runner-up. The Diamondbacks righty received 31 second-place votes
and one third-place mention. He and Peavy were the only pitchers
named on all of the ballots.
It's the 12th time an NL pitcher has been a unanimous choice for
the honor and the first since Arizona's Randy Johnson in 2002.
The 26-year-old right-hander became the fourth Padres pitcher to
win the award, joining reliever Mark Davis in 1989, Hall of Famer
Gaylord Perry in 1978 and lefty Randy Jones in '76.