Wallace Gets Big Award From Big 12

By  | 

IRVING, Texas --- Texas A&M senior offensive center Cody Wallace was named Co-Offensive Lineman of the Year by the Big 12 head coaches on the annual all-Big 12 Conference football team, the Big 12 announced on Tuesday. In all, 14 Aggies received mention from the conference head coaches.
Wallace, who shared the honor with Missouri’s Adam Spieker, was the Aggies’ lone representative on the all-Big 12 first team. Wallace was the ringleader of an A&M offensive front that paved the way for one of the nation’s top rushing offenses. The Aggies were one of a handful of teams with three rushers with more than 600 rushing yards, and ranked No. 13 nationally in rushing. The Aggies averaged 402.8 yards of total offense per game and scored 346 points.
As the Aggies head into the bowl season, Wallace has started 36 straight games at center. The former Cuero Gobbler earned first-team all-Big 12 honors as a junior and a senior after receiving honorable mention honors as a sophomore.
Earning spots on the Big 12’s second team were fullback Chris Alexander, defensive end Chris Harrington, linebacker Misi Tupe and punter Justin Brantly.
Best known for his dominating blocking skills, Alexander also contributed nine catches for 91 yards and had nine carries for 25 yards, while serving on several of the Aggies’ special team units.
Harrington was the Aggies’ top tackler on the defensive line for the second straight season and contributed six tackles behind the line of scrimmage. Harrington led the team in quarterback pressures and forced two fumbles.
Tupe was second on the team with 89 tackles and posted a pair of quarterback sacks, an interception and two pass breakups.
Brantly had another strong season with a 42.9 punt average, 15 50-yard plus boots and 14 “coffin corner” kicks. Brantly closed the regular season by averaging a season-high 52.0 yards in the Aggies’ 38-30 win over the archrival Longhorns.
Grabbing honorable mention all-Big 12 honors were: defensive end Michael Bennett; tight end Martellus Bennett; defensive tackle Red Bryant; cornerback Marquis Carpenter; offensive tackle Corey Clark; linebacker Mark Dodge; offensive guard Kirk Elder; running back Jorvorskie Lane; and quarterback Stephen McGee.