Pistorius Named Finalist For Hermann Trophy

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas- Ashlee Pistorius, a member of the Texas A&M soccer team was named one of three finalists for the 2007 Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy presented by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, it was announced today.

The Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy honors the top male and female Division I college soccer players in the United States. The award is college soccer’s version of the Heisman Trophy and represents the highest level of individual achievement in the sport.

Pistorius, a three-time All-American ended a phenomenal senior campaign having led the nation in goals scored (25) and was named the Big 12 Conference’s Offensive MVP. During her career at A&M the Bloomington, Ill.-native surpassed Bryn Blalack as the Aggies’ all-time goal scorer (81) and points leader (194).

The three finalists will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in downtown St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, for a news conference, where the winner of the award will be revealed. The announcement will be carried live on ESPNews (6 p.m. CST).

The winners of the award are selected through voting by the members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

2007 MAC Hermann Trophy Finalists

Lauren Cheney, UCLA

Ashlee Pistorius, Texas A&M

Mami Yamaguchi, Florida State