Tebow Adds To His Collection Of Postseason Awards

By  | 

GAINESVILLE, FL -- Tim Tebow is the AP's choice as college football player of the year. The vote was similar to the one that made the University of Florida quarterback the first sophomore to win the Heisman Trophy.

Tebow received 31 of a possible 58 votes from AP poll voters.
Arkansas running back Darren McFadden, the Heisman runner-up,
received 19 votes, and Hawaii quarterback Colt Brennan was third
with four votes.

Oregon quarterback Dennis Dixon received three votes and West
Virginia quarterback Pat White received one vote.

Tebow became the first player in major college history to run
for at least 20 touchdowns and throw 20 TD passes in the same
season. He accounted for 51 touchdowns, including a Southeastern
Conference record 22 rushing, and set a school record with 3,970
yards of total offense.

After helping the Gators win the national title as a freshman
playing part-time last year, Tebow proved he could do it all in his
first season as a starter.

He was the second-rated passer in the nation and completed 68
percent of his throws after being used almost exclusively as a
short-yardage runner last year.