Kansas' Mangino Wins AP Coach Of The Year For 11-1 Season And Orange Bowl Berth

By  | 

LAWRENCE, KS -- Kansas football coach Mark Mangino is The Associated Press Coach of the Year.

In voting by AP college football poll voters, Mangino received
28 of a possible 58 votes, easily outdistancing Missouri's Gary
Pinkel, who had 11. Hawaii's June Jones was third (seven votes) and
Illinois coach Ron Zook fourth (five votes).

Mangino is the first Kansas coach to win the award since the AP
started handing it out in 1998 and the third Big 12 coach, joining
Oklahoma's Bob Stoops (2000) and Kansas State's Bill Snyder (1998).
Stoops and Mangino were both assistants for Snyder during the mid

In his sixth season with Kansas, Mangino has gotten an
exceptional effort from the Jayhawks. Long-woeful Kansas won a
school-record 11 games, had two All-Americans and earned a spot in
the Bowl Championship Series for the first time.

On January 3rd in Miami, the Jayhawks will play Virginia Tech in
their first major bowl since 1969.