Ag Swimmers Honored

By  | 

IRVING, Texas—Sixteen members of the Texas A&M women’s swimming & diving team earned academic all-Big 12 status for the 2007-08 season, the league office announced today.

The Aggie women were also the only team in the Big 12 to have more than one athlete earn a 4.0 grade point average. Sophomores Ella Doerge (Clive, Iowa), Emily Neal (Plano), and Sarah Woods (Birmingham, Ala.) all have earned cumulative 4.0 grade point averages since their arrival at Texas A&M.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team members are those who have achieved a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA under the award requirements.

The Aggies placed 10 athletes on the first team. Joining Doerge, Neal, and Woods on the first team are seniors Chelsea Helgason (Olympia, Wash.), Brittany Lentz-Raiford (Humble), and Megan Rains (Puyallup, Wash.), juniors Triin Aljand (Tallinn, Estonia), Kristen Heiss (Casper, Wyo.), and Julia Wilkinson (Stratford, Ont.) and sophomore Melissa Hain (Kingwood).

Six Aggies were named to the academic all-Big 12 second team. Those honorees include senior Beth McCullough (Austin), juniors Codie Hansen (Arlington), Marissa Jasek (San Antonio), and Sally Ranzau (Alpharetta, Ga.) and sophomores Alia Atkinson (Pembroke Pines, Fla.) and Rebekah Love (Conroe).

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus