SHSU's Bright Named To 10-Player NABC All-District Team

By  | 

KANSAS CITY, MO -- Ryan Bright, 6-6 senior forward from Sam Houston State, has been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) NCAA Division I All-District IX team for 2008.

A total of 10 NCAA Division I men's basketball players from Texas and
Arkansas were so honored. Bright is the only Southland Conference player on the all-star team.

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, the student-athletes selected to the All-District squads represent the finest basketball players across American. The 150 student-athletes from 15 districts are now eligible for selection to the State Farm Division I All-America team to be announced Saturday, April 5, at the 2008 NABC Convention in San Antonio.

Bright has helped lead Sam Houston State to a 22-6 record, the Bearkats'
third consecutive 20-plus victory season. He ranks 10th in the NCAA Division I and leads the Southland Conference in rebounds with 10.9 per game and ranks second on the Bearkat squad in scoring with 11.2 points a game.

The 2008 NABC All-District 9 Selections:

First Team
D. J. Augustin, Texas
C. J. Jerrells, Baylor
Robert McKiver, Houston
Josh Carter, Texas A&M
Martin Zeno, Texas Tech

Second Team
Sonny Weems, Arkansas
A. J. Abrams, Texas
Joseph Jones, Texas A&M
Ryan Bright, Sam Houston State
Damion James, Texas

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus