INDIANAPOLIS, IN -- Texas A&M pulled within two of UCLA on Sunday. Too bad the game ended Saturday night.
The NCAA clarified the score of the top-seeded Bruins' second-round victory over the Aggies, saying the officials waived off Russell Westbrook's dunk as time expired and the final was 51-49 instead of 53-49.
UCLA's Josh Shipp blocked Donald Sloan's drive in the final seconds and Westbrook rushed up court for an emphatic dunk as the Bruins celebrated.
It turns out Westbrook didn't make it to the basket in time.
``As the officials were leaving the court, they waived off the basket, ruling the ball was still in Westbrook's hands when the clock expired,'' Hank Nichols, national coordinator of men's basketball officiating, said in a release Sunday. ``Amidst the activity courtside, there was a misinterpretation of the signal. But the ruling on the court was that the basket should not have counted, making the final score 51-49, not 53-49.''
The Bruins (33-3) will face Western Kentucky in the West Regional semifinals Thursday in Phoenix.
To comment, the following rules must be followed:
Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.
Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please provide detailed information.