Texas A&M Set To Host 2008 Big 12 Tennis Championships

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION -- Texas A&M is set to host the 2008 Big 12 Conference Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championships on April 24-27 at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center.

A&M will serve as host of the four-day postseason championship for only the third time in conference history next to 1999 and 2002. The George P. Mitchell Tennis Center, chosen as the USTA Facility of the Year in 1999, has played host to numerous intercollegiate tennis tournaments over the years ranging from USTA events to the NCAA Regionals. In 2002 and 2005, the venue served as the site of the NCAA Men’s Tennis Championships, and in 2009 will serve as host to both the men’s and women’s national championships.

One of the finest college tennis facilities in the nation, the Mitchell Tennis Center boasts 12 championship courts with permanent seating for 3,000 spectators. A school-record 2,339 fans watched the Aggie men battle top-ranked Georgia in an NCAA Sweet 16 match on May 18, 2002. The lighting of the facility also averages 150 feet inside the fences which rivals the candle power of the U.S. Open. Men’s and women’s matches will be played simultaneously on both the Stadium and Grandstand courts with the exception of Saturday’s semifinals.

The fifth-seeded A&M men will take on fourth-seeded Texas Tech in quarterfinal action on Friday, April 25 at 3 p.m., while the third-seeded A&M women earned a first-round bye and will face either sixth-seeded Oklahoma State or 11th-seeded Missouri in the quarterfinals on Friday at 6 p.m. Both Aggie teams will play on the Stadium courts.

Texas A&M (1998, 2000, 2001), Baylor (2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007) and Texas (1997, 1999, 2006) have combined to win all 11 of the previous men’s Big 12 postseason championships, while the women’s championship features past tournament winners in A&M (2004), Baylor (2006, 2007), Texas (1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005) and Oklahoma State (2003).

All-Championship general admission tickets priced at $15 are available for purchase online at www.12thManFoundation.com or by calling the 12th Man Foundation Ticket Office at 1-888-99-AGGIE. Single day general admission tickets priced at $6 are also available, while college students and children will be admitted for $4. Additionally, All-Championship and single day general admission tickets can be purchased at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center Box Office.



Friday, April 25

Match 1 - No. 2 Baylor vs. No. 7 Nebraska at 9 a.m. (Grandstand)

Match 2 - No. 3 Oklahoma State vs. No. 6 Oklahoma at noon (Stadium)

Match 3 - No. 4 Texas Tech vs. No. 5 Texas A&M at 3 p.m. (Stadium)


Saturday, April 26

Match 4 - Winner of Match 1 vs. Winner of Match 2 at 9 a.m. (Stadium)

Match 5 - No. 1 Texas vs. Winner of Match 3 at 3 p.m. (Stadium)


Sunday, April 27

Match 6 - Winner of Match 4 vs. Winner of Match 5 at 1 p.m. (TBD)


First Round

Thursday, April 24

Match 1 - No. 8 Oklahoma vs. No. 9 Texas Tech at 10 a.m. (Grandstand)

Match 2 - No. 5 Kansas vs. No. 12 Iowa State at 10 a.m. (Stadium)

Match 3 - No. 7 Nebraska vs. No. 10 Kansas State at 1:30 p.m. (Grandstand)

Match 4 - No. 6 Oklahoma State vs. No. 11 Missouri at 1:30 p.m. (Stadium)


Friday, April 25

Match 5 - No. 1 Baylor vs. Winner of Match 1 at 9 a.m. (Stadium)

Match 6 - No. 4 Colorado vs. Winner of Match 2 at noon (Grandstand)

Match 7 - No. 2 Texas vs. Winner of Match 3 at 3 p.m. (Grandstand)

Match 8 - No. 3 Texas A&M vs. Winner of Match 4 at 6 p.m. (Stadium)


Saturday, April 26

Match 9 - Winner of Match 5 vs. Winner of Match 6 at noon (Stadium)

Match 10 - Winner of Match 7 vs. Winner of Match 8 at 6 p.m. (Stadium)


Sunday, April 27

Match 11 - Winner of Match 9 vs. Winner of Match 10 at 1 p.m. (TBD)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus