Aggie Golfers Recognized

By  | 

IRVING, Texas— Texas A&M's Lauren Johnson, Danielle McVeigh and Sarah Zwartynski have been named to the All-Big 12 women's golf team.

The 10-player team was selected by the league's head coaches.

A&M produced a trio of all-conference selections for the third straight year. Johnson and McVeigh also earned the honor last year.

A freshman from Allen, Texas, Zwartynski leads the Aggies in scoring with a 75.74 average, the second best by a freshman in school history. She has posted seven top-25 finishes, including three top 10s. Zwartynski tied for fourth at the Big 12 Championship.

A sophomore from Kilkeel, Northern Ireland, McVeigh has a 76.36 scoring average and is the No. 2 career scorer in school history at 75.67. She had four top-25 finishes and tied with Zwartynski for fourth at the Big 12 tournament.

A junior from The Woodlands, Texas, Johnson ranks third on the team in scoring with a 76.52 average and is No. 5 on the school's career scoring chart at 76.56. She had five top-25 performances with a pair of top 10s. Johnson finished seventh at the Central District Invitational.

The Aggies will compete at the NCAA Central Regional May 8-10 in Austin. The top eight teams will advance to the NCAA Championships May 20-23 in Albuquerque.

2008 All-Big 12 Women’s Golf Honors

All-Big 12 Team
Emily Powers, Kansas, So.
Julie Potter, Missouri, So. **
Tammy Clelland, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Karin Kinnerud, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Pernilla Lindberg, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Jaclyn Sweeney, Oklahoma State, Fr. **
Ashley Rollins, Texas, Sr. **
Lauren Johnson, Texas A&M, Jr.
Danielle McVeigh, Texas A&M, So.
Sarah Zwartynski, Texas A&M, Fr. **

Player of the Year
Pernilla Lindberg, Oklahoma State, Jr.

Newcomer of the Year
Jaclyn Sweeney, Oklahoma State, Fr.

Coach of the Year
Laura Matthews, Oklahoma State

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus