Seven Bearkats Named All-Region

By  | 

HUNTSVILLE – Following their performances at the Midwest Regional Track and Field Championships last weekend, seven Sam Houston State athletes have been named to the All-Region team. Dees Meek, Chris Cralle and Jon Tipton as well as the women’s 4x400-meter relay team of Tiffany Singleton, Jessica Fisher, Monika May and Desiree Taylor earned the recognition after posting top-8 finishes at the regional meet.

Also, SHSU men’s hurdler Lane Dennis received and at-large invitation to compete next week in the 400-meter hurdles at the NCAA Championship in Des Moines, Iowa June 11-14.

He will join Meek who won the gold medal in the high jump at the NCAA Division I regional championships last Saturday.

Meek cleared 5 feet, 11.5 inches on her second attempt to earn the title. Epley Bullock of Nebraska finished as runner-up, clearing 5 feet, 11.5 inches on her third attempt. Both missed on all three of their tries at the next height.

Cralle placed sixth in the men’s hammer with a throw of 203 feet, seven inches. Tipton, threw the discus 170 feet one inch to finish seventh.

The women’s 4x400 meter relay team finished seventh with a time of 3:37.94.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus