NCAA's CWS In Omaha Extended 25 Years

By  | 

INDIANAPOLIS, IN -- The NCAA will keep the College World Series
in Omaha, Neb., through 2035 under an unprecedented 25-year
contract extension.

The baseball championship has been in Omaha each year since
1950. The new agreement will take effect in 2011 when the CWS moves
from Rosenblatt Stadium to a 24,000-seat downtown ballpark.

NCAA president Myles Brand said Thursday the city's commitment
to a new stadium was a factor in the long extension.

The 2008 series begins Saturday. The eight teams in the field
are: Georgia, Florida State, Rice, Stanford, North Carolina, LSU,
Fresno State and Miami.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus