2012 SEC Women’s Soccer Awards Announced

By  | 

Birmingham, Ala. -- Florida head coach Becky Burleigh, Ole Miss forward Rafaelle Souza, Missouri defender Allison Hu, Florida midfielder/forward Erika Tymrak, Florida midfielder Holly King and Alabama midfielder Merel van Dongen headline the 2012 Southeastern Conference Women’s Soccer Awards announced Monday.

Burleigh was named SEC Coach of the Year while Souza and Hu shared earned SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors. Tymrak was named SEC Offensive Player of the Year. King was tabbed SEC Defensive Player of the Year. Van Dongen garnered SEC Freshman of the Year while earning second team All-SEC honors.

It is the fifth time that Burleigh has been named SEC Coach of the Year. Burleigh led the Gators to the SEC title with an 11-2-0 league record this season.

Souza, who owns a 3.72 grade point average in Engineering, and Hu, who has a 4.0 grade point average in Health Sciences, were tabbed SEC Soccer co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Souza is leading the SEC with total points (32) while ranking second in goals scored (12) and fourth in assists (7) on the season. Hu started every game for the Tigers at central defender and was the only player to play every minute this season for Mizzou. She helped the Tigers record six shutouts on the season.

Tymrak becomes the first Florida player to earn SEC Offensive Player of the Year honors since the honor was split between offensive and defensive players in 2005. The Bradenton, Fla., native led the Gators with 17 points on the season, scoring five goals and dishing out seven assists.

King earned SEC Defensive Player of the Year honors after anchoring one of the SEC’s top defenses. Florida allowed the second-fewest goals in league play and King proved to be a threat offensively by scoring three goals and recording three assists against SEC teams.

Van Dongen started each of Alabama’s 19 matches and scored three goals and had three assists on the season. Two of the scores and all three assists came in league action.

2012 SEC Women’s Soccer Awards
First Team All-SEC
Tatiana Coleman, Auburn – F, 5-8, So., Boca Raton, Fla.
Holly King, Florida – M, 5-9, Sr., Ashburn, Va.
Jo Dragotta, Florida – M, 5-8, Sr., Tampa, Fla.
Erika Tymrak, Florida – M/F, 5-5, Sr., Bradenton, Fla.
Arin Gilliland, Kentucky – D, 5-8, So., Lexington, Ky.
Alyssa Diggs, Missouri – F, 5-4, Jr., Coppell, Texas
Dominique Richardson, Missouri – M, 5-6, Jr., Fullerton, Calif.
Hannah Wilkinson, Tennessee – F, 5-11, So., Whangarei, New Zealand
Jordan Day, Texas A&M – GK, 6-0, So., Gilbert, Ariz.
Annie Kunz, Texas A&M – F, 6-0, So., Golden, Colo.
Meghan Streight, Texas A&M – D/M, 5-5, So., McKinney, Texas

Second Team All-SEC
Pia Rijsdijk, Alabama – F, 5-9, So., Numansdorp, Netherlands
Merel van Dongen, Alabama – M, 5-8, Fr., Amsterdam, Netherlands
Allie Chandler, Arkansas – F, 5-3, Sr., Mesquite, Texas
Christen Westphal, Florida – D/M, 5-6, Fr., Brecksville, Ohio
Torri Allen, Georgia – D, 5-4, Jr., Stafford, Va.
Jade Kovacevic, LSU – F/M, 5-6, Fr., Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Mandy McCalla, Ole Miss – M/F, 5-8, Jr., Fayetteville, Ga.
Rafaelle Souza, Ole Miss, Ole Miss – F, 5-7, Jr., Salvador, Brazil
Elisabeth Sullivan, Mississippi State – F, 5-5, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.
Sabrina D’Angelo, South Carolina – GK, 5-8, So., Welland, Ontario
Ali Hall, Tennessee – D, 5-8, Sr., Hawthorn Woods, Ill.
Shea Groom, Texas A&M – F, 5-6, So., Liberty, Mo.

All-Freshman Team
Katie Bourgeois, Alabama – F, 5-5, Fr., Katy, Texas
Merel van Dongen, Alabama – M, 5-8, Fr., Amsterdam, Netherlands
Ashleigh Ellenwood, Arkansas – F, 5-9, Fr., Michigan City, Ind.
Kala Faulkner, Auburn – D, 5-5, Fr., Alpharetta, Ga.
Christen Westphal, Florida – D/M, 5-6, Fr., Brecksville, Ohio
Kelli Hubly, Kentucky – F, 5-9, Fr., Elk Grove, Ill.
Courtney Raetzman, Kentucky – M, 4-11, Fr., Elk Grove, Ill.
Jade Kovacevic, LSU – F/M, 5-6, Fr., Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Candace Johnson, Missouri – D, 5-10, Fr., Dallas, Texas
Jackie Tondl, Texas A&M – D, 5-9, Fr., Omaha, Neb.
Cheyna Williams, Vanderbilt – F, 5-7, Fr., Hampton, Ga.

Coach of the Year
Becky Burleigh, Florida

Offensive Player of the Year
Erika Tymrak, Florida

Defensive Players of the Year
Holly King, Florida

Freshman of the Year
Merel van Dongen, Alabama

Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Rafaelle Souza, Ole Miss
Allison Hu, Missouri

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus