2013 SEC Men’s Basketball Awards Announced; Turner 1st-Team All-SEC

By  | 

Following a prolific regular season where he stood out as one of the nation’s top scorers, Texas A&M senior guard Elston Turner was rewarded on Tuesday as he was named First Team All-SEC by the league’s coaches.

The Sacramento, Calif., native has been the Aggies’ top scorer all season long, leading the squad and ranking third in the SEC with a 17.7 point per game average. During SEC play, Turner has stepped his game up, rank second in the conference with a 19.4 scoring average. For the season, he is shooting .437 from the field, while maintaining a .372 shooting percentage from beyond the 3-point arc.

Turner, who garnered honorable mention All-Big 12 honors a year ago, also ranks second on the Aggies with 72 assists, while also contributing 29 steals and seven blocked shots.

Among the many memorable games Turner has produced this season was an incredible 40-point outburst during Jan. 12th‘s victory at defending national champion Kentucky. Making 14-of-19 shots from the floor, including six 3-pointers, Turner became just the third player to score 40 points against the Wildcats at historic Rupp Arena, joining LSU's Chris Jackson and Navy's David Robinson. Additionally, he became the first Aggie to crack the 40-point mark since Don Marbury put up 41 against Baylor on Jan. 5, 1985.

Turner, who accumulated nine games of 20 or more points this season, also left his impression on the Reed Arena record book, setting the arena record for most points in a men’s game not once, but twice this year. During a win over Ole Miss on Feb. 13, Turner poured in an amazing 37 points to break the previous Reed Arena scoring record, which had been held by Baylor's Curtis Jerrells, who scored 36 during a five-overtime contest on Jan. 23, 2008.

The record stood for just 10 days as Turner was at it again on Feb. 23 when he notched 38 points during a four-overtime thriller against Tennessee.

The Southeastern Conference unveiled its men’s basketball coaches’ postseason awards Tuesday to cap off another exciting season of SEC basketball.

Florida’s Billy Donovan earned SEC Coach of the Year honors while Georgia sophomore Kentavious Caldwell-Pope was selected the SEC Player of the Year by the league’s coaches. Kentucky’s Nerlens Noel took home SEC Freshman of the Year and SEC Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Kentucky’s Kyle Wiltjer was tabbed SEC Sixth Man of the Year while Florida’s Patric Young earned SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.

This is the second SEC Coach of the Year honor for Donovan, who led the Gators to a 14-4 mark in league play and a 24-6 overall record. The Gators earned their fourth SEC championship under the direction of Donovan and the fifth in school history.

Caldwell-Pope, who ranks second in the SEC in scoring (18.0 ppg) and third in steals (2.1 spg), is one of only 10 players in NCAA Division I to score in double figures in every one of their team's games this season. The Greenville, Ga., native becomes the first Georgia player to be named SEC Player of the Year by the league’s coaches. 

Noel blocked 106 shots in his 24 games before going down with a knee injury on Feb. 12. Despite the shortened season, his 106 blocks ranked second in UK single-season history and third among SEC Freshmen behind Anthony Davis (186) and Shaquille O’Neal (115). He set a UK single-game record with 12 blocked shots at Ole Miss and finished the year averaging 10.5 points and 9.5 rebounds per game.

Young earned the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award for the second consecutive year, sporting a 3.38 grade-point average in Telecommunications. The junior from Jacksonville, Fla., is averaging 10.5 points and 6.2 rebounds for the nationally-ranked Gators.

Wiltjer won the SEC’s Sixth Man of the Year award after averaging 10.5 points, 4.3 rebounds and 1.6 assists per game.

Coaches voted on eight member teams for First Team All-SEC, Second Team All-SEC and for the SEC All-Freshman Team. They voted on a five-player squad for the SEC All-Defensive Team. They were not permitted to vote for their own players and ties were not broken.

A complete list of the 2013 SEC Men’s Basketball postseason awards follows:

First Team All-SEC
Trevor Releford, Alabama – G, 6-1, 195, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.
Erik Murphy, Florida – F/C, 6-10, 238, Sr., South Kingstown, R.I.
Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia – G, 6-5, 205, So., Greenville, Ga.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.
Johnny O’Bryant III, LSU – F, 6-9, 256, So., Cleveland, Miss.
Phil Pressey, Missouri – G, 5-11, 175, Jr., Dallas, Texas
Jordan McRae, Tennessee – G, 6-5, 178, Jr., Midway, Ga.
Elston Turner, Texas A&M – G, 6-5, 209, Sr., Sacramento, Calif.

Second Team All-SEC
Marshawn Powell, Arkansas – F, 6-7, 240, Jr., Newport News, Va.
BJ Young, Arkansas – G, 6-3, 180, So, St. Louis, Mo.
Kenny Boynton, Florida – G, 6-2, 190, Sr., Pompano Beach, Fla.
^Mike Rosario, Florida – G, 6-3, 183, Sr., Jersey City, N.J.
^Patric Young, Florida – C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.
Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss – G, 6-2, 175, Jr., Hurst, Texas
Murphy Holloway, Ole Miss – F, 6-7, 240, Sr., Irmo, S.C.
Laurence Bowers, Missouri – F, 6-8, 227, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.
Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee – F, 6-8, 270, So., Memphis, Tenn.

SEC All-Freshman Team
Michael Frazier II, Florida – G, 6-4, 200, Fr., Tampa, Fla.
Charles Mann, Georgia – G, 6-4, 205, Fr., Alpharetta, Ga.
^Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky – F, 7-0, 244, Fr., Olathe, Kan.
Archie Goodwin, Kentucky – G, 6-4.5, 198, Fr., Little Rock, Ark.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.
^Alex Poythress, Kentucky – F, 6-7, 239, Fr., Clarksville, Tenn.
Craig Sword, Mississippi State – G, 6-3, 189, Fr., Montgomery, Ala.
^Gavin Ware, Mississippi State – F, 6-9, 270, Fr., Starkville, Miss.
Michael Carrera, South Carolina – F, 6-5, 212, Fr., Anzoátegui, Venezuela

SEC All-Defensive Team
^Trevor Releford, Alabama – G, 6-1, 185, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.
Scottie Wilbekin, Florida – G, 6-2, 176, Jr., Gainesville, Fla.
^Patric Young, Florida – C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.
Anthony Hickey, LSU – G, 5-11, 178, So., Hopkinsville, Ky.
Reginald Buckner, Ole Miss – F, 6-9, 235, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.

^-Ties are not broken

SEC Coach of the Year: Billy Donovan, Florida
SEC Player of the Year: Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia
SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Patric Young, Florida
SEC Freshman of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky
SEC Sixth-Man of the Year: Kyle Wiltjer, Kentucky
SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus