2013 TSWA All-Class 4A Baseball Team

By  | 

BRYAN, Texas (AP) - Outfielder Nick Banks, who led Tomball to a baseball state championship, is the Texas Sports Writer's Association's Class 4A player of the year.

Banks batted .523 with nine home runs and 39 runs batted to lead Tomball to its first state title. He also was the winning pitcher in the regional finals and state semifinals.

Here is the Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 4A state baseball team:


Pitchers - Kenneth Saenz, Corpus Christi Moody, jr.; Austin Hagy, Wichita Falls Rider, sr.; Robert Dugger, Tomball, sr.

Catcher - (tie) Jake Rogers, Canyon, sr., and Michael Cantu, Corpus Christi Moody, jr.

First baseman - Dillon Menville, Tomball, Sr.

Second baseman - Eric Dunbar, Tomball, sr.

Shortstop - Ronnie Gideon, Hallsville, sr.

Third baseman - Edward Pena, Mission Veterans Memorial, soph.

Outfielders - Nick Banks, Tomball, sr.; Dayne Wunderlich, Brenham, sr.; Stephen Smith, Wolfforth Frenship, sr.

Designated hitter - (tie) Tanner Stierwalt, Fort Worth Boswell, sr., and David Pewenofkit, Wichita Falls Rider, sr.

Player of the year - Nick Banks, Tomball, sr.

Coach of the Year - Doug Rush, Tomball


Pitchers - Dylan Schneider, Cleburne, soph.; Holden Grounds, Corsicana, sr.; Ryan Cheatham, Whitehouse, jr.

Catcher - Tanner DeVinny, Lucas Lovejoy, sr.

First baseman - Corey Pickens, Mansfield Summit, sr.

Second baseman - (tie) Julian Fernandez, Mission Veterans Memorial, sr., and Blaine Prescott, Amarillo, sr.

Shortstop - Anthony Lucas, Tomball, sr.

Third baseman - Jose Flores, Laredo Cigarroa, sr.

Outfielders - J.D. Garcia, Corpus Christi Moody, sr.; Jonathan Groff, Castroville Medina Valley, jr.; Ryan Sluder, Amarillo, sr.

Designated hitter - Nathan Freitag, Corpus Christi Tuloso-Midway, soph.


Pitchers - Travis Geiser, Gregory-Portland, sr.; Reid Garrett, Richmond Foster, jr.; and (tie) Tyler Fowler, Cleburne, sr., and Michael Agis, San Antonio Harlandale, sr.

Catcher - Ryan Newman, Brenham, soph.

First baseman - Ty Boland, Montgomery, sr.

Second baseman - (tie) Lee May Gonzalez, Corpus Christi Calallen, sr., and Will Bass, Plainview, sr.

Shortstop - Kolton Mims, Corpus Christi Flour Bluff, sr.

Third baseman - (tie) Cameron Smith, Dallas Hillcrest, sr., and Zacharie Johnson, Austin LBJ, sr.

Outfielders - Preston Dorsey, Corpus Christi Calallen, sr.; Cade Davis, Wolfforth Frenship, sr.; Aaron Clemons, Whitehouse, sr.

Designated hitter - Michael Agis, San Antonio Harlandale, sr.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus