Brazos Blaze National Champions

By  | 

McKINNEY -- The Brazos Blaze rode the pitching arm of Brice Springer to a second national championship in three years. The Blaze went 7-0 in the tournament.

Springer pitched a complete game winning 7-3 against the former Arkansas state champs, the Fayetteville Bulldogs. The Blaze fell behind 2-0 in the first inning before putting up four runs, all the runs they would need, in the third inning with a walk and three consecutive singles.

The Blaze led off the bottom of the fifth inning with with four singles getting three insurance runs along the way. The Blaze used seven players to get seven singles. The hit parade included: Shelby Robinson, Kevin Bishop, Brandon Coronado, Derrick Hadley, T J Nixson, Michael Todaro and Caleb Riebe.

Tournament Awards
MVP: T J Nixson

All Tournament:
Brandon Coronado
Michael Todaro
Shelby Robinson
Derrick Hadley
Kevin Bishop
Brice Springer

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus