Aggie Men Win Texas A&M Invitational Team Title With Songok’s Individual Victory

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION -- The debut race for Shadrack Songok with the Aggie cross country team was a successful one as the three-time NCAA track champion claimed the individual victory in 24 minutes, 16 seconds over the 8,000-meter course at the Texas A&M Invitational on Friday evening.

A sweep of the top four places for A&M led the squad to a sixth consecutive title at its home meet, totaling 21 points to finish ahead of Stephen F. Austin (85), Tarleton State (137) and Rice (142).

Following Songok's impressive win were teammates Kevin McNab (24:29) in second, Mitch Bible (24:40) placing third and Joe Sauvageau (24:41) taking fourth. The next batch of Aggies included Kevin Burnett (25:15) and Kevin Ondrasek (25:18) among the top 15 finishers.

Christina Munoz led the Texas A&M women’s team with a seventh place finish as she covered the 5,000-meter course in 17:30. The Aggie crew placed fifth with 131 points.

Baylor women placed four runners among the top 10 to claim the women’s team title with 32 points. SMU (60) and Rice (63) placed second and third, respectively, while Texas (108) finished fourth.

SMU’s Silje Fjortoft won the women’s race in 16:34 with Baylor’s Erin Bedell runner-up in 17:10 while Rice’s Lennie Waite claimed third with a 17:14.

Following Munoz, the next Aggie was Elizabeth Slaughter (18:19) among the top 25. The rest of the scoring tandem for Texas A&M included Leigh Berger (18:38), Alie Cornell (18:53), and Kacey McNorton (19:02).

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus