SHSU's Raquel Bueno, Luana Miessa Named All-SLC In Women's Soccer

By  | 

PLANO -- Raquel Bueno and Luana Miessa, Sam Houston State's one-two scoring punch in the front line, have been named to the 2008 All-Southland Conference women's soccer team.

The honor squad was selected by vote of the league's head coaches and sports information directors.

Bueno, a senior, and Miessa, a sophomore, helped lead Sam Houston State to its first winning season in the six-year history of the Bearkat women's soccer program. Both are from Sao Paulo, Brazil. The Kats posted a 9-7 record and just missed a spot in the post-season SLC tournament with a 4-5 league mark.

Bueno led the Bearkats will 11 goals. Miessa was one behind with 10. The 11 goals by Bueno ties the school record for goals in one season set by Kim Brown in 2003.

Miessa led the team in assists with eight. Bueno assited on four Bearkat goals this season.

With 27 goals during her four-year career at Sam Houston, Bueno stands as the program's all-time leading scorer. Miessa has scored 14 goals in her two years on the team to rank fifth in all-time Bearkat scoring.

During the 2008 season, the pair helped lead the Kats to their best ever season start (7-2), the most victories in one season (9) and the program's longest winning streak (7 matches). The four Southland Conference victories tie as the season best for Sam Houston State.

The 2008 All-Southland Conference Women's Soccer Team:

F - Kamryn Koch - McNeese State - Sr.
F - Britney Curry - Texas State -San Marcos - So.
F - Ja'Nae Powell - McNeese State - Sr.
F - Kayce Schultz - Northwestern State - Jr.
M - Amanda Lackey - Stephen F. Austin - Sr.
M - Andrea Grifo - Texas State-San Marcos - Jr.
M - Mayra Torres - McNeese State - Sr.
D - Jessica Lewis - Texas State-San Marcos - So.
D - Anna Fagan - Texas State-San Marcos - So.
D - Jessica Cotton - Stephen F. Austin - Sr.
G - Mandi Mawyer - Texas State -San Marcos Jr.

F - Raquel Bueno - Sam Houston State - Sr.
F - Luana Miessa - Sam Houston State - So.
F - Amanda Alders - Stephen F. Austin - Sr.
F - Erica Michaud - Texas State - San Marcos - Fr.
M - Kelsey Bernard - Texas State-San Marcos - Fr.
M - Natalie Santana - Southeastern La. - So.
M - Alana Clark - McNeese State - So.
D - Ezinne Okpo - Texas-San Antonio - Jr.
D - Chelsea Brozgold - Northwestern State - Jr.
D - Justeen Lords - McNeese State - Sr.
G - Lindy Strahan - Northwestern State - So.

Allison Dillon, F, UTSA; Megan Cash, F, SFA; Lauren Lewis, MF, TXST; Aline Pugliesi, MF, LU; Rachel O' Steen, MF, NWLA; Erin Leighton, D, MCN; Christina Racanelli, D, TXST; Bobbie Hayes, D, NWLA; Shalayne Heffner, D, SLU; Celeste Carruth, D, UTSA; Nicole Brannigan, D, SLU; Lacey Bockhaus, GK, SLU; Nicoline Joergensen, GK, UTSA.

Player of the Year - Kamryn Koch, McNeese State
Freshman of the Year - Erica Michaud, Texas State
Newcomer of the Year - Jenna Oney, Southeastern Louisiana
Coach of the Year - Kat Conner, Texas State

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus