Starks Up For Wooden Award

By  | 

LOS ANGELES – For the second consecutive year, Texas A&M women’s basketball player Takia Starks (Houston, Texas) was named one of the top preseason candidates for the John R. Wooden Women’s Award.

Starks, a 5-foot-8 senior guard who averaged a team-leading 16.3 points per game in 2007-08, is one of 30 student-athletes who, based on last year’s individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for women’s college basketball’s most prestigious honor.

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the preseason list. These players and others who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for January’s midseason list and the official voting ballot released in March. Starks was one of four players on the list hailing from the Big 12 Conference, a league in which she has been named twice as a first-team selection and postseason tournament Most Outstanding Player.

“I am pleased to see so many players returning from last season’s ballot,” said Richard “Duke” Llewellyn, Wooden Award Chairman and founder. “With all of the amazing talent across the country, this is going to be a memorable season.”

In mid-January, the Wooden Award Committee will release the Midseason Top 20 list, followed in March by the national ballot, consisting of approximately 15 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 grade-point average. The Women’s Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced the week of the NCAA Elite Eight.

The 33rd annual Wooden Award Ceremony, which will include the announcement of the men’s and women’s Wooden Award, and the presentation of the Wooden Award All-American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club in April.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation’s best player at an institution of higher education. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (‘79), Michael Jordan (‘84), Tim Duncan (‘97), and last year’s recipients, Kevin Durant of Texas and Candace Parker of Tennessee.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus