Two Bearkats Land On All SLC Squad

By  | 

HUNTSVILLE -- Anna Ferguson and Haley Thomas of Sam Houston State have been named to the 2008 All-Southland Conference volleyball squad.

Ferguson was a first team selection while Thomas was a second team honoree.

The two middle blockers anchored a Bearkat front line that powered Sam Houston State to a 9-7 Southland Conference record and a fourth place finish in the Southland West Division. The Bearkats will be the No. 5 seed at this weekend's Southland Conference post-season tournament in Nacogdoches which will decide the league's representative to the NCAA Division I women's volleyball tournament.

Ferguson, a junior from Dallas Lake Highlands High School, led Sam Houston in scoring with 339 kills, 34 service aces and 98 blocks for 422 total points. She produced double-figure kills in 17 matches.

Thomas, a senior from Jewett, ranked second on the squad in kills with 284 and led the team in blocks with 106. She transferred from Baylor where she played one year after earning junior college All-America honors at Blinn.

The complete 2008 All-Southland Conference women's volleyball team:

First Team All-Conference
Anna Ferguson, Sam Houston
Chloe Smith, Central Arkansas
Jessica Weynand, Texas State-San Marcos
Kendra Rowland, Texas-San Antonio
Lauren Railey, Stephen F. Austin
Lauren Holdroff, Lamar
Emily Jones Wilkes, Texas State-San Marcos
Amy Weigle, Texas State-San Marcos
Robyn Smith, Central Arkansas
Kelsey Jewasko, Texas-San Antonio
Amanda Aguilera, Texas-Arlington
MC Bottles, Stephen F. Austin

Second Team All-Conference
Haley Thomas, Sam Houston
Yelena Enwere, Northwestern St.
Chanel Tyler, McNeese St
Lawrencia Brown, Texas State-San Marcos
Ashley Todd, Lamar
Kaci Brewer, Lamar

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Laurel Kuepker, Stephen F. Austin
Amber Brooks, Texas-San Antonio
Genevieve Gladle, Lamar
Brittany Collins, Texas State-San Marcos
Ashley Bailey, Stephen F. Austin
Jessica Hays, Central Arkansas
Stefanie Robbins, Texas-San Antonio
Nicole Bowden, McNeese
Lauren Paslay, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Shalayne Blythe, Lamar

Player of the Year - Chloe Smith, Central Arkansas

Newcomer of the Year - Stefanie Robbins, UTSA

Freshman of the Year - Jessica Hays, Central Arkansas

Libero of the Year - Kelsey Jewasko, UTSA

Setter of the Year - Robyn Smith, Central Arkansas

Coach of the Year - Steven McRoberts, Central Arkansas

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus