12 Kats Honored By SLC

By  | 

HUNTSVILLE- -Headlined by defensive end Chris Brown who was a first-team selection, 12 Sam Houston State players have been named to the 2008 All-Southland Conference football team.

The honor squad is selected by vote of the league?s head football coaches and sports information directors.

Quarterback Rhett Bomar, wide receiver Catron Houston, offensive lineman Hunter Schmidt and defensive backs Wonseleh Brewer and Billy Skinner all were second team selections.

Fullback Matthew Powledge, wide receiver Justin Wells, offensive lineman Nick Grimes, defensive lineman Erik Mikolajchak, linebacker Nolan Bucek and punter Derrick Raymer were honorable mention selections.

Brown led Sam Houston with nine quarterback sacks in 2008 and totaled 53 tackles including 11 for losses as a defensive end.

Bomar ranked No. 4 in passing and No. 2 in total offense in NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision play. The senior passed for 3,355 yards and 27 touchdowns and gained 3,542 yards total offense. In two years and 19 games, Bomar became the all-time Sam Houston leader in both passing (5,564 career yards) and total offense (6,160 yards).

Houston led the Bearkats in receiving with 51 catches for 1,002 yards including nine touchdowns. Wells was the Bearkats? fifth leading receiver with 27 grabs for 445 yards. Both Houston and Wells end their careers ranked among Sam Houston?s top 20 all-time receivers. Houston stands No. 6 with 120 career catches for 1,706 yards. Wells caught 83 balls for 1,278 yards.

Schmidt and Grimes were starters in an offensive line that cleared the road for a Bearkat attack that finished the season ranked No. 4 in the nation in passing offense (338.0 yards per game) and No. 6 in total offense (457.3 yards per game).

Brewer, Skinner, Mikolajchak and Bucek all ranked among the team leaders on defense. Bucek and Skinner led the team with 75 tackles each. Brewer totaled 38 tackles including six pass breakups. Mikolajchak posted 23 tackles including five for losses.

Raymer, who also started as a linebacker, produced a 41.0 yard punting average. Powledge played an important role as fullback blocking for Sam Houston State?s rushing offense that registered 119.3 yards on the ground per contest.


First Team Offense
QB Nathan Brown - Central Arkansas
RB Toddrick Pendland - McNeese State
RB Karrington Bush - Texas State-San Marcos
FB Blake Burton - Texas State-San Marcos
WR Cameron Luke - Texas State-San Marcos
WR Dominque Edison - Stephen F. Austin
TE Marquez Branson - Central Arkansas
OL Eman Naghavi - McNeese State
OL Kyle Link - McNeese State
OL Lane Freiwald - Central Arkansas
OL Jeff Bowen - Texas State-San Marcos
OL Jeremy Ford - Central Arkansas
PK Robert Weeks - Northwestern State

First Team Defense
DL Larry Hart - Central Arkansas
DL Tim Knicky - Stephen F. Austin
DL Vaalyn Jackson - McNeese State
DL Chris Brown - Sam Houston State
LB Allen Nelson - McNeese State
LB Jabara Williams - Stephen F. Austin
DB Lardarius Webb - Nicholls State
DB Tommy Connors - Southeastern La
DB Pieri Feazell - Central Arkansas
DB Wesley Eckles - Northwestern State
DB Anthony Gambles - Central Arkansas
P Patrick Dolan - Nicholls State .
RS Lardarius Webb - Nicholls State

Second Team Offense
QB Rhett Bomar - Sam Houston State
RB Byron Lawrence - Northwestern State
RB Brent Grimes - Central Arkansas .
FB Nick Cowger - Central Arkansas
WR Steven Whitehead - McNeese State
WR Catron Houston - Sam Houston State
TE Wes Mangan - McNeese State
OL Brad Gordon - Central Arkansas
OL Nigel Cormier - Nicholls State
OL Lance Fremin - McNeese State
OL D.J. Hall - Texas State-San Marcos
OL Hunter Schmidt - Sam Houston State
PK Andrew Ireland - Texas State-San Marcos

Second Team Defense
DL Taylor Scott - Central Arkansas
DL Donavan King - Texas State-San Marcos
DL Zac Reddix - Nicholls State
DL Ledell Love - Northwestern State
LB James Lancaster - Central Arkansas
LB Mack Dampier - Northwestern State
DB Jeremy Haynes - McNeese State
DB Wonseleh Brewer - Sam Houston State
DB Morris Crosby - Texas State-San Marcos
DB Marquis Powell - Southeastern La.
DB Billy Skinner - Sam Houston State
P Jonathan Beard - Central Arkansas
RS Karrington Bush - Texas State-San Marcos

Player of the Year: Nathan Brown, Central Arkansas
Offensive Player of the Year: Toddrick Pendland, McNeese State
Defensive Player of the Year: Larry Hart, Central Arkansas
Freshman of the Year: Simmie Yarborough, Southeastern La.
Newcomer of the Year: Duane Brooks, Stephen F. Austin
Coach of the Year: Clint Conque, Central Arkansas

Honorable Mention ? Quarterback: Derrick Fourroux, MCN; Jeremy Moses, SFA; Bradley George, TXST. Running Back: Jay Lucas, SLU. Fullback: Matthew Powledge, SHSU; Contravious Parks, SFA. Wide Receiver: Willie Landers, UCA; Eric Ware, UCA; Justin Wells, SHSU. Tight End: Simmie Yarborough, SLU; John Gilley, TXST. Offensive Linemen: Aric Flowers, NICH; Tim Henderson, NWLA; Nick Grimes, SHSU; Brad Bardy, SLU; Kevin Hughes, SLU; Karl Glimp, SFA; Cameron Schacht, SFA. Placekicker: Ross Schexnayder, NICH. Defensive Linemen: Kenton Alleyne, MCN; Matt Fairchild, NICH; Erik Mikolajchak, SHSU; Devin Boutwell, SLU; Steven Honore, SLU; Travis Houston, TXST. Linebacker: Deron Minor, MCN; Nolan Bucek, SHSU; Quinten Pierre, SLU; Joe Bell, TXST; Courtney Smith, TXST. Defensive Back: Derrick Boyd, UCA; Darrell Jenkins, MCN; Justin Perry, NWLA; Kenneth Hampton, TXST. Punter: Derrick Raymer, SHSU; Drew Nelson, SFA. Return Specialist: Marquis Powell, SLU.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus