Bradford, Crabtree headline college awards

By  | 

LAKE BUENA VISTA, FL -- Sam Bradford won the Davey O'Brien award on Thursday night, beating out Heisman Trophy finalists Tim Tebow and Colt McCoy as college football's best quarterback.

Bradford, who will lead Oklahoma against Tebow's Florida Gators
in the national championship game next month, directed the highest
scoring team in major college football history. He led the nation
in passer rating (186.3) and TD passes (48) while throwing for
4,464 yards.

Bradford became the second Sooners quarterback to win the award, joining Jason White.

Tebow won the award last year ahead of winning the Heisman,
which will be presented Saturday in New York.

"It will be an honor just to be there with those guys,"
Bradford said. "This is great to win. I was a little surprised.
It's too early to tell what else will happen."

Michael Crabtree, a Texas Tech sophomore, won his second
straight Biletnikoff Award for best wide receiver. Crabtree caught
18 touchdown passes this year, and has 93 receptions for 1,135
yards. He made headlines for his last-second, game-winning
touchdown catch against Texas.

"This one feels just as good as the first one," Crabtree said.
"You always think you're going to win, but you just never know for

Running back Shonn Greene of Iowa won the Doak Walker Award as the nation's best running back, finishing ahead of Knowshon Moreno
of Georgia and Javon Ringer of Michigan State, who will meet in the
Capital One Bowl on New Year's Day in Orlando.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus