No. 1 Aggie Women Win Third Consecutive Big 12 Indoor Title

By  | 

College Station – In becoming the first women’s team to win three consecutive Big 12 Indoor Championships, the No. 1 Texas A&M squad sprinted and jumped their way to 130 points on the decisive day of the meet in the Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium.

Gabby Mayo, the women’s high point scorer with 23 points, led the way from the start of the meet with a pair of victories in the 60 hurdles, a facility record of 8.20, and 60 meters, with a personal best of 7.28.

The Aggie women amassed 24 points in the 60, 21 in the 200, 21 in the triple jump, 14 in the 60 hurdles, 11 in the 400 and very pleasant surprise of 10 points in 600 yards. Then a win in the 4 x 400 capped off a rush of 111 points in the sprints, hurdles and triple jump on the second day of the Big 12 Championships.

Following the A&M women were Texas Tech (103.5), Nebraska (96.5), Baylor (86), and Texas (83.5).

The Aggie women have equaled Texas in the number of consecutive conference titles won between indoor and outdoor seasons. The 2009 Big 12 Indoor crown is the fifth consecutive for the A&M women since 2007.

“To win conference championships it takes a total team effort,” Texas A&M coach Pat Henry said. “As you can see it took scoring in lots of places here this evening to win a championship. Our ladies lined it up and got it done.

“You come into the meet just trying to win the one you’re lining up and trying to win. I didn’t even think about it being the third consecutive indoor title for our women.”

The No. 6 Texas A&M men finished third with 84 points behind Texas (115) and Nebraska (102.5). The rest of the top five included Baylor (73) and Oklahoma (66).

“I’m extremely pleased with our men as well,” Henry noted. “They were third in the Big 12 after placing ninth two years ago and fourth last year. We ran without a healthy Chris Dykes and Gerald Phiri didn’t have the kind of meet he is accustom to having.

“For the most part, though, our guys lined up and had a great meet. We got beat by two teams that were better than us.”

Event winners for the Aggie women also included Porscha Lucas, who lowered her 200 meter collegiate leading time to 22.94; Jessica Beard in the 400 (52.35) with a school record to improve on her previous best of 52.44; and Yasmine Regis, who claimed a third Big 12 title in the triple jump with a mark of 43-10.

On the day of amazing marks and victories, Sandy Wooten provided a particularly surprising victory in the 600 yards. She earned the title in 1:21.50 and broke a 29-year old school record in just her third time to contest the distance. She bettered the A&M mark of 1:21.97 set by Jana Graves in 1982.

Wooten later ran second leg on the winning 4 x 400 relay, following Allison George and handing the baton off to Beard. Then Lucas anchored the squad to a 3:38.08 victory.

The lone event winner on the men’s side was Zuheir Sharif in the triple, repeating a title he earned as a freshman two years ago. His mark of 53-9, a scant two inches from his school record, led a 21-point effort by the Aggies.

Also scoring in the triple jump for A&M were Julian Reid, who placed fourth (52-11 ½), Melvin Echard, who improved his personal best by a foot and two inches in finishing fifth (52-10 ¼), and Tyron Stewart, who added a couple more points in seventh (52-4 ¾).

Gerald Phiri was runner-up in the 60 (6.76) while the Aggie 4 x 400 placed third in 3:08.80 with the foursome of Tran Howell, Bryan Miller, Kyle Dykhuizen and Justin Oliver.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus