Aggie Basketball Honors 08-09 Team During Awards Celebration

COLLEGE STATION -- Josh Carter received the Acie Law IV Most Valuable Player Award at Texas A&M’s 2008-09 men’s basketball celebration Monday night at The Cox-McFerrin Center for Aggie Basketball.

The event featured a highlight video and comments from Head Coach Mark Turgeon.

The Aggies finished 24-10 this season and tied for fourth place in the Big 12. A&M advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the fourth straight year and became one of only six schools to win an NCAA game in each of the last four seasons. The Aggies have had five consecutive 20-win seasons, including three straight years with at least 24 wins.

A senior from Dallas, Carter finished his career as the winningest player in A&M history with 98 victories and played in a school-record 135 games. He was the first player in A&M history to appear in four NCAA Tournaments and is the only player in school annals to score 1,500 points with at least 500 rebounds and 200 assists.

Junior Chinemelu Elonu (Houston) received the Vernon Smith Rebound Award and shared the Sonny Parker Most Improved Player Award with sophomore B.J. Holmes (Houston).

Elonu averaged 9.8 points and led the team in rebounds (7.3), blocked shots (53) and field goal percentage (.665). Holmes averaged 8.8 points and in Big 12 play led the league in three-point percentage (.470) and was second in free throw percentage (.860).

Bryson Graham, a senior from San Antonio, was given the Shelby Metcalf Most Inspirational Player Award. A three-year letterman, Graham was hampered by knee injuries throughout his career but served as team co-captain with Carter this season.

Junior Donald Sloan (Dallas) received the David Edwards Assist Award and junior Derrick Roland (Dallas) was handed the Dominique Kirk Defensive Award.

Sloan led the team in assists (108) and was second on the team in scoring (11.8). Roland was named to the Big 12 All-Defense Team and averaged 6.3 points.

sophomore Shawn Schepel (Dallas) took home the Dr. John Thornton Academic Award for the second straight year. Schepel is a honor student majoring in nuclear engineering.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus