Three Sam Houston State Men's Basketball Players Named To All Southland Conference Squad

By  | 

HUNTSVILLE -- Ryan Bright, Aaron Wade, and Jejuan Plair, who led Sam Houston State to a21-8 regular season record and their second consecutive Southland Conferencerunner-up finish, have been named to the 2007 All-Southland Conferencesquad.

Bright, a 6-6 junior forward from Deer Park, is a first team selection and
was the runner-up in the voting for Southland Conference men's basketball player of the year.

Wade, a 6-7 senior post player from Plano, is a second team selection.
Plair, the Bearkats' 6-1 senior point guard from Killeen, was a third team
choice. The 22 players on the 2007 All-Southland squad were selected by vote ot the league's head coaches and sports information directors.

Bright led the 2007 Bearkats in scoring (14.6) and rebounding (8.0) and was a three-time Southland Conference men's basketball "Player of the Week" selection. He scored in double figures 23 times this year and has become the 20th Bearkat to score more than 1,000 career points.

"Ryan has had another big season for us," SHSU head coach Bob Marlin said.

"He has been a consistent performer for us."

Wade, who moved from forward to center after a pre-season injury to John Gardiner, has become one of the team's top scoring threats. He averaged 11.9 points per game and ranked third d in the Southland in three point shooting.

"Aaron has had a great year. Forced to play center, he has been a consistent scorer and a leader on the floor," Marlin said. "Normally, he guards the other team's post player and has done well despite the height disadvantage."

Plair ranked second in the league in assists (5.8) and averaged 10.9 points per game. He scored in double figures in 16 games this season.

"Jejuan has done a great job leading this team," Marlin said. "He has scored less than last year, but gets the ball to other players to put them in position to score. He has a great work ethic and brings strength and
athleticism to the floor for us."

2007 All-Southland Conference Men's Basketball

First Team
Chris Daniel, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Sr., 7-0
Ryan Bright, Sam Houston State, Jr., 6-6
Stefan Blaszczynski, Nicholls State, Jr., 6-5
Jermaine Griffin, Texas-Arlington, Jr. 6-9
Josh Washington, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Sr. 6-3

Second Team
Aaron Wade, Sam Houston State, Sr. 6-7
Jarvis Bradley, McNeese State, Jr., 6-6
Lamar Sanders, Lamar, Jr., 6-6
Daryl Cohen, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr., 6-4
Luke Rogers, Northwestern State, Jr., 6-1

Third Team
Jejuan Plair, Sam Houston State, Sr., 6-1
Josh Alexander, Stephen F. Austin State, So., 6-4
Kennan Jones, Northwestern State, Sr., 6-2
Durrell Nevels, Central Arkansas, Jr., 6-6
James Davis, Lamar, Jr., 7-1

Honorable Mention
Colby Bargeman, Northwestern State
Terry Bryant, Southeastern Louisiana
Brandon Bush, Texas State-San Marcos
John Ford, McNeese State
Darren Hopkins, Lamar
Matt Kingsley, Stephen F. Austin State
Antuane Miller, Stephen F. Austin State

Player of the Year: Chris Daniels, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Newcomer of the Year: Lamar Sanders, Lamar
Freshman of the Year: Ro'ger Guignard, Texas-Arlington
Coach of the Year: Ronnie Arrow, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi