Law Named To's All-American Team

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION -- Texas A&M senior Acie Law IV on Tuesday was named to's 2007 All-America Team, marking the first time in school history an Aggie has been named to a five-man first-team All-America squad.

Joining Law on the team is Texas' Kevin Durant, UCLA's Aaron Afflalo,
Nevada's Nick Fazekas and Wisconsin's Alando Tucker. Durant was named player of the year.

Law has led A&M to a 25-5 record and a No. 7 national ranking going into postseason play. He is averaging 18.2 points and 5.3 assists while making 51.6 percent from the field, 46.1 percent from three-point range and 77.0 percent from the free-throw line.

Law was a consensus choice among ESPN's seven college basketball analysts who selected the team. He is a consensus first-team All-Big 12 pick and was selected as the league's most valuable player by the Fort Worth Star-Telegram.

He is the eighth A&M player in history to receive All-America honors. The Helms Foundation named Carroll Broussard (1962) and John Beasley (1966) to its first-team All-America squad, but those teams were comprised of 10 or more players.


1950 Jewell McDowell UPI (Honorable Mention)
1951 Walter Davis Helms Foundation (Third-Team)
1961 Carroll Broussard Helms Foundation (Second-Team)
1962 Carroll Broussard Helms Foundation (First-Team)
1963 Bennie Lenox Helms Foundation (Second-Team)
1966 John Beasley Helms Foundation (First-Team)
2005 Antoine Wright (Honorable Mention)