Law Named Finalist For Naismith Trophy

By  | 

ATLANTA, GA -- Texas A&M senior Acie Law IV is one of four finalists for the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced on Sunday.

Texas' Kevin Durant, North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough and Wisconsin's Alando Tucker join Law on the final ballot. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the player and coach of the year.

A&M Coach Billy Gillispie was named a finalist for the Naismith Coach of the Year award last week.

Law is averaging 18,2 points and has led the Aggies to a 27-6 record, the best in school history. He was named the Big 12 Player of the Year by the Dallas Morning News and Big 12 Most Valuable Player by the Fort Worth Star-Telegram. Law is a first-team All-America selection by the National Association of Basketball Coaches, United States Sport Writers Association, The Sporting News, and

A&M will play Memphis on Thursday in the NCAA South Regional semifinals in San Antonio.

Finalists were chosen through a vote by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, who narrowed the mid-season list of 30 candidates down to the final four. The Board, which is comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, based its criteria on player performances this season.

The finalists will attend the NABC Awards program in Atlanta on April 1,
where the winner will be presented with the Naismith Trophy. The Men's College Player of the Year winner will be featured on AT&T "At the Half" during CBS Sports' coverage of the NCAA championship game on April 2.

Again this year AT&T will give fans an unprecedented voice in selecting the winner. Fan voting, through the power and ease of text messaging, will account for 25 percent of the selection process. This program sets the standard in college athletics for integrating fans into the voting process and providing them with more input than with any other major collegiate sports award. Fans can text message "VOTE" to "87654" to receive the final ballot and participate in the voting process.* Voting for the Naismith Trophy Women's College Basketball Player of the Year will end on Saturday, March 31 at 9 p.m. EDT.

AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers allowing even more fans to participate. Other wireless carriers must opt-in for their subscribers to participate.

CBS Sports will profile the four Naismith Trophy finalists during its
coverage of the 2007 NCAA Men's Basketball Championship starting with the first games of the NCAA Sweet 16 on Thursday.

Last year's Naismith Trophy recipient was Duke Forward J.J. Redick. Other notable men's college player of the year winners include Bill Walton (1972-1974), Larry Bird (1979), Michael Jordan (1984), Patrick Ewing (1985) and Christian Laettner (1992).