Soccer Hosted Annual Awards Banquet Sunday

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION -- The three-time defending Big 12 champion Texas A&M soccer team hosted its Annual Awards Banquet on Sunday evening in the Zone Club at Kyle Field.

Each year the banquet highlights the academic and athletic accomplishments of several players and staff members, including honors received from various soccer media organizations and associations outside Texas A&M University.

"This year's banquet was more than a celebration of another championship season,” A&M head coach G Guerrieri said. “We love honoring all our players for their incredible achievements, especially our graduating seniors."

The awards presented at the banquet ranged from position MVP’s, who contributed to the team’s success on the field, to those accolades which highlighted the athlete who most exemplified the spirit of Aggieland.

"The players in this program have made winning look simple, and we know that's not the case,” Guerrieri continued. “Winning championships takes hard work on all the important things, especially in the off season, when nobody else seems to be watching. These players have made winning a common carry-over to the way they approach everything in their life."

The Aggies wrapped up their spring, non-traditional season on Saturday with a game against the University of Florida. After three 30-minute periods, the teams ended the match in a 2-2 draw. Over the course of the spring season, the Aggies competed in full-sided matches against the USA U20 Women’s National Team, Brigham Young University, Louisiana State University and Florida. A&M won its annual 7-v-7 tournament with games against the University of North Texas, Texas-San Antonio, Rice and the University of Houston, closing out non-traditional play with a 5-1-2 record.

“I continue to be very proud of all of our players. Their desire to improve on the successes they’ve already accomplished never ceases to amaze me,” Guerrieri concluded. “They desire more and continue to work hard to reach the high goals they’ve set for themselves, both personally and as a team.”

The Aggie soccer team begins the 2007 season on August 25th with a match against the Gators in Gainesville, Fla. Kickoff is schedule for 6 p.m. (CDT). A&M is also set to host the 2007 NCAA Women’s College Cup the first weekend in December at the Aggie Soccer Stadium.

2006-2007 Aggie Soccer Award Winners:

Leading Scorer- Ashlee Pistorius (Jr.)

Offensive MVP- Suzzette Devloo (Sr.) and Ashlee Pistorius (Jr.)

Midfield MVP- Amy Berend (Jr.)

Defensive MVP- Emily Peterson (So.)

Perseverance- Paige Carmichael (Jr.)
Given to the player with the "never say die" attitude, overcoming all obstacles.

Iron Aggie- Paige Carmichael (Jr.)

Given to the player who achieves the most in the weight room.

Newcomer of the Year- Kristin Arnold (Fr.)

Assists Leader- Allison Martino (Jr.)

12th Man- Elisabeth Jones (Jr.)
Given to the player who made the largest contribution off the bench.

Spirit Of Aggieland- Annie Burnett (Sr.)

Given to the player who exemplifies the spirit of Aggieland by displaying a strong cohesive spirit for the team.

Most Improved- Suzzette Devloo (Sr.)