Franklin Named AP All America Honorable Mention

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION -- Texas A&M junior point guard A’Quonesia Franklin (Tyler, Texas) was recently named an All-America honorable mention selection by The Associated Press.

Franklin helped lead the nationally-ranked women’s basketball team to its second consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance and first Big 12 Conference championship title. She was one of two Aggies to play and start in all 32 games of the season averaging a team-leading 34.9 minutes, 9.9 points, 2.9 rebounds, 4.7 assists and 1.6 steals per game. The shortest player in the Big 12 at 5-foot-3, she led the league for the third consecutive season with an impressive 1.91 assist-to-turnover ratio and ranked fifth in assists, 11th in steals, 28th in scoring and ninth in three-point field goals made (48). Franklin recorded a career-high 25 points and career-high tying 10 assists in a 78-68 win over Oklahoma on Feb. 10 and scored in double figures 15 times during the 2006-07 season. She dished out a team-best 149 assists to become the third A&M player in school history to turn in three-straight 100+ assist seasons next to Toccara Williams (2000-04) and All-American Lisa Branch (1992-96).

For the first time of her career, Franklin was honored as an All-Big 12 First Team selection by the league’s coaches and by The Dallas Morning News. She also received an All-Big 12 Second Team nod by The Waco Tribune. Franklin was also one of only five women’s basketball players featured on the cover of Sports Illustrated in its NCAA Tournament preview issue. She was named twice this season as Big 12 Player of the Week and has recorded 454 career assists to date which ranks fourth all-time at A&M.

Selection to the AP Women’s All-America Basketball Team was based on voting by a 46-member national media panel.



Candace Parker (Tennessee), Courtney Paris (Oklahoma), Lindsey Harding (Duke), Ivory Latta (North Carolina) and Jessica Davenport (Ohio State)


Sylvia Fowles (LSU), Candice Wiggins (Stanford), Crystal Langhorne (Maryland), Angel McCoughtry (Louisville) and Chrissy Givens (Middle Tennessee)


Katie Gearlds (Purdue), Erlana Larkins (North Carolina), Alison Bales (Duke), Armintie Price (Mississippi) and Tasha Humphrey (Georgia)

HONORABLE MENTION (In alphabetical order)

Matee Ajavon (Rutgers), Meredith Alexis (James Madison), Kimberly Beck (George Washington), Essence Carson (Rutgers), Tina Charles (Connecticut), Marissa Coleman (Maryland), Dee Davis (Vanderbilt), Jessica Dickson (South Florida), Natalie Doma (Idaho State), Shay Doron (Maryland), Krystal Ellis (Marquette), A’Quonesia Franklin (Texas A&M), Kamesha Hairston (Temple), Devanei Hampton (California), Stephanie Hawk (Gonzaga), Alexis Hornbuckle (Tennessee), Charde Houston (Connecticut), Tiffany Jackson (Texas), Crystal Kelly (Western Kentucky), Jackie McFarland (Colorado), Lyndsey Medders (Iowa State), Renee Montgomery (Connecticut), Carrie Moore (Western Michigan), Mandy Morales (Montana), Bernice Mosby (Baylor), Noelle Quinn (UCLA), Allie Quigley (DePaul), Jillian Robbins (Tulsa), Adrianne Ross (TCU), Brooke Smith (Stanford), Carla Thomas (Vanderbilt), Ashley Walker (California), Marcedes Walker (Pittsburgh), Abby Waner (Duke), Emily Westerberg (Arizona State), Lindsay Wisdom-Hylton (Purdue), Dani Wright (BYU).