SHSU Golfers Honored

By  | 

Stefanie Page, Jennifer Heinz, Landa Stewart, and Wendy Joyner, who teamed to lead Sam Houston State to the 2007 Southland Conference women's golf championship, have been recognized as All-Southland Conference this season.

Mike Dirks, head coach of the Bearkats, was named as Southland Conference women's golf "Coach of the Year."

Members of the 16-player honor squad were voted upon by the league's head women's golf coaches and sports information directors.

Sam Houston State won the championship April 11 by 13 strokes over Lamar.

Page, a sophomore transfer from The Woodlands, earned first team
All-Southland Conference honors and was named as Southland "Newcomer of the Year."

Page led the Southland Conference in stroke average this season with a 75.4 mark. She finished among the top 10 individuals in six tournaments this year and climaxed the season by winning the Southland Conference individual trophy in a sudden death playoff.

Heinz, a junior from Mounds View, MN, was named second team All-Southland. She finished eighth in the individual standings at the Southland tournament and finished among the top 10 individuals in each of the Bearkats' final four events this spring. Heinz posted a 78.3 stroke average. Heinz receives All-Southland honors for the second year in a row after being an honorable mention selection last year.

Stewart, a freshman from The Woodlands, and Joyner, a sophomore from Montgomery, both were honorable mention All-Southland selections.

Stewart and Joyner produced stroke averages of 77.8 and 77.9, respectively, this season. Stewart placed fifth individually at the Southland Conference tournament while Joyner was 15th.

"The girls truly deserve this outstanding honor and the credit for coaching
the team should go to assistant coaches Tommy Chain and Robert Thompson who worked with the girls this year," SHSU head coach Mike Dirks said. "The girls played their hearts out this year and did a fantastic job at the conference tournament. We couldn't be prouder of them."


Theresa Nilsson, Lamar
STEFANIE PAGE, Sam Houston State
Christina Lecuyer, Central Arkansas
Mary Betancourt, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Tinna Johannsdottir, McNeese State

Hillary Zeigler, Lamar
Nicole Forshner, Central Arkansas
Linda Persson, Lamar
Sara Ekermann, McNeese State
JENNIFER HEINZ, Sam Houston State

LANDA STEWART, Sam Houston State
WENDY JOYNER, Sam Houston State
Bonnie Howard, Lamar
Annessa Thompson, Texas State-San Marcos
Laura Baker, Texas-San Antonio
Christine Brijalba, Texas State-San Marcos

Player of the Year: Therese Nilsson, Lamar
Freshman of the Year: Linda Persson, Lamar
Newcomer of the Year: STEFANIE PAGE, Sam Houston
Coach of the Year: MIKE DIRKS, Sam Houston